Guys, Don’t Lie To Your Friends, It Screws You Over

Hi guys. This is going to be a long post, but please bare with me. I’ve wanted to explain this for a very long time.

My friend Willow is amazing, and is honestly one of the best things that has ever happened to me. But there was a time, about 2 months ago, when we went through the most difficult patch of friendship I’ve ever experienced.

Once I’m done with this post, I’m showing this blog to her, mainly because we promised we wouldn’t lie to each other again.

Some of you may know this, but to those of you who don’t: I sometimes go by the name Gemma. It’s not my real name, but before this blog, I had another blog where I used that name.

That blog is now deleted. Well, all of the posts are. And I’ll tell you why.

I’ve always trusted Willow. I still do, obviously – she’s regained it, which was bloody difficult for me to do, but she’s gained it back. It takes me a while to forgive people usually – that’s a problem I have. Can’t help it most times.

So I showed her the blog. Gemma, I mean. That was a massive thing for me: I’d only shown one other friend, but I wanted to tell Willow because it was an important part of my life. And Willow understood. She knew how special it was to me and I respect that from her.

Around that same time, Willow started to talk about a Wattpad account she had. A secret Wattpad account that she wouldn’t show anyone. Out of all our friends, I understood the most – Gemma. That’s all I’m saying.

I had a Wattpad. I’ve made a new account now, but that’s besides the point. So this Wattpad: I’d started to write a fantasy story in November last year. I got a really sweet message from a girl called Rosa, saying she loved my stories and she’d stumbled upon them when looking for some good dystopian fiction.

We got to talking. She said that she was from Wales, and was in year 11, so she knew how stressful year 10 was because of exams. She said she could speak both English and Welsh, and that she was writing on her Wattpad to improve her English. Rosa was so nice and I felt like I knew her because she was just so easy to talk to.

Jump forward 3 months. So, Willow was talking about her secret Wattpad. It was outside English that I finally snapped and said, “Look, just tell me the name. You owe me that much.” I said pointedly. That was harsh of me, but really I had just had enough.

“Rosa,” she said. For some reason, that rang a bell. Hmm, I thought. Yeah, I’ll think about that when I got home.

That time came. Now, this part’s a bit blurry. My details are a bit sketchy – you’ll see why in a minute.

I think it was out of curiosity that I looked on Rosa’s Wattpad profile. Perhaps it was a memory from the conversation I’d had with Willow but SOMETHING made me check it. Perhaps I already suspected – I don’t really know.

Her profile. On that, she had a youtube video. Bit of background info: I performed a cover with Willow a few months back and posted it on my youtube channel. Jesus, Willow is an amazing singer.

Right. So I clicked on it. Out of curiosity, I think. And the voice? It was Willow.

I don’t think I’ve ever felt that angry, apart from the times when someone really hurt me. I just remember thinking, “FUCKING WILLOW FUCK.”

I messaged Rosa. “Hi!” I said. “I just want to say, I love your cover you put up on youtube! It’s funny – your voice reminds me so much of my friend Willow’s! You know, Willow’s half-Welsh. She was going to be called Gwyneth.” (Yes I KNOW I spelled that wrong!)

I couldn’t have made it more obvious that I knew if I tried, and she knew that.

I’m ashamed of what I did. Or rather, I’m ashamed of the argument we had. I just couldn’t get over the fact that she had lied to me so much, then contacted me under a fake name.

We’re good now. How could we not be? I got over myself because she’s always been there for me. But we’ll still have that situation to remind us. It’s going to remind us what NOT to do. There is no way I’m repeating what I did, and there’s no way SHE’s repeating what she did.

We talked about it today, actually. In person. I find that difficult; kind of pathetic I know. But we managed, and we hugged afterwards. I’d run through what happened with her.

Thank you, Willow. Seriously. I’m showing you this because you deserve to know, and I’m not hiding again. I know you won’t too (I bloody hope you won’t anyway!).

Love from your best friend,
Elm

15 thoughts on “Guys, Don’t Lie To Your Friends, It Screws You Over

    • Nah, it’s not messed up. I understand her motives behind it. I’m really glad we got through it because it was me that wasn’t forgiving her and I feel bad.

  1. This reminds me of something I did in 2013. One of my friends, (let’s call her Shay) suddenly started acting extremely distant. She, another friend (let’s say Ruby) and I used to follow each other on quotev (something like wattpad) and write stories together and all that stuff. Ruby and I went onto Quotev soon after Shay started acting distant. Shay had blocked both of us. Ruby just gave up, but I didn’t. I read all her posts, and all her complaints and journal entries by not logging in. I HAD to talk to her, or help her. So I created an entirely new person. I will not reveal the real name, since i still use the identity at times for other purposes, so I’ll call her… Susan. So, Susan (me) decided to comment, and advise her on how to deal with life. I pretended to be a British girl, living in Winchester. I kept track of the timezone there, so I could answer anything about it. Shay began to trust Susan, and they grew close. But that wasn’t the end of it. All of my other friends such as Rayna, Amber, Acacia and Ruby were on there too. So Susan befriended them all. She commented and encouraged. Susan also started writing and asked them for opinions, so their opinions will be absolutely honest. I finally told Ruby, and all she said was,”Jan! Your writing’s amazing!” So that went well. She had no clue Susan was me. I told Acacia too. Rayna said that she’d just guessed it was me. Though, Amber’s reaction was the best. We were at a sleepover, and she was in the middle of drinking water when i told, and I kid you not, she spat it out and looked extremely surprised xD
    About 3 months after Susan had stopped contacting Shay completely, I, as myself, on text said to her,”Hey dude? I need to confess to you about something.” and her immediate response was,” Does the name Susan mean anything to you?” and I just sent a winky emoji and said,” You got me xD”. So that went well. Oddly, I don’t regret it… Although, your situation does seem different from mine :/

    • It’s really awesome that yours went so well! Our situations are different, but not MAJORLY so. Thanks so much for commenting, by the way! 🙂

  2. I’m really glad you too are happier together once again because I know what it’s like losing trust in the only people you find close and it’s truly horrible. I can imagine how terrible it must of been for both of you but hopefully one day you’ll look back and call it a funny story.

  3. That’s a difficult situation, but I’m glad you managed to get through it 🙂 it’s always difficult to rebuild friendships after you’ve lost trust, but I suspect it was worth it. Also, thank you, because I have to write a 1000-word story about friendship for a competition, would you mind if I used your experience as inspiration? I totally understand if you’d rather keep it private, and if I did do it I’d be happy to send you a copy first. 🙂

    • I’d literally be so happy if you used my exampr; that would be amazing! Thank you! Also, yes, I’d like a copy – not first, but at some point, just so I can have a look 🙂 Thank you so much for commenting. You’re right: for me, trust is a massive thing and if someone breaks it, I find it so hard to forgive them.

  4. Wow, that is kind of weird.
    I had a similar situation, but with a RANDOM guy in my history class (last year)
    It was on thestudentroom
    I commented (as a different username) on a history thread last year when a random boy started messaging me.
    We were just talking – not flirting, or being overly friendly, just talking.
    But it went on for a long time – for about 7 months.
    Then, one day in history this guy turns to me and goes –
    ‘Mona, do you know someone called ********** (my username)?’
    At that moment I knew he had been fucking with me.
    So I replied –
    ‘Yeah, it’s my account name on thestudentroom. Weird, for the past 7 months I have been getting these messages from this random guy, I have no idea who he is. Do you?’
    I’m a bitch, I know.
    He said –
    ‘Oh yeah, that was me. Aha, as if you actually believed it though! I was joking.’
    ‘Lol, why?’ I asked.
    ‘Dunno, thought it would be fun.’
    What a douche.

    I still don’t know how he found me. I registered the name under a different email, and the username was no way close to my real name, and I never enclosed any personal details. Weird.

What did you think?

