EHEHEH, He Said Elm LOLOLOL

I’ve not been in a good mood at ALL recently, as evidenced by my last post. I am SO sorry about all that, guys. But THANK YOU so much for all your support – it managed to somewhat drag me out of the miserable burrow I’d dug myself into.

But enough of that. I’m taking a break from my usually depressing posts to write THIS THING. Actually, Shivani inspired me to write this with her humorous ways. Go check out her blog; it’s splendiferous.

In English on Friday, we were studying a thrice-damned poem called The Hunchback in the Park by Dylan Thomas. It is thrice-damned because poor ickle Elmitron doesn’t understand it.

My English teacher is the best thing. Ever. I don’t really know how to describe him – maybe I’ll do that in a later post. I remember him reading the poem My Last Duchess by Robert Browning in the most sadistic and creepy voice I’ve ever heard, and he paused every few stanzas to cackle maniacally.

So he was reading The Hunchback in the Park. And one of the lines was this:

A woman figure without fault
Straight as a young elm

I choked. And then, I started laughing. I tried to muffle it, squeezing my eyes shut. Unfortunately, my friend Wren (not actually called that but nature is bae) sits next to me. Wren knows about this blog. So Wren laughed, which didn’t help.

We were asked to talk about the poem. I put my hand up, still laughing slightly.

“Well, there’s a LOT of emphasis on nature. The woman is compared to an elm-” I couldn’t stop a slight fluctuation in my voice “-and the poet puts an emphasis on the boys hiding in the willow groves.”

I couldn’t hold back the pointed way I said willow. Because, well, Willow’s in my English class, and she sits behind me. You can read about Willow here.

I felt like a right rebel and I couldn’t stop myself from sniggering “Elm” every few seconds.

WOW SUCH TREES. I am so so mature!

5 thoughts on “EHEHEH, He Said Elm LOLOLOL

What did you think?

