Other Species of Human, The Societies in the Past and Why I Love My Dad

Oh shite! Forgot this was a draft… Wow!

This post was inspired by Every Word You Say’s post – go and check it out; it’s adorable.

Both my dad and I share a common interest in, well, the past – but also how we’ve evolved over time.

Today, we had a conversation about different societies. The way the Native Americans and Australians were treated, DNA evidence to show who’d migrated from countries to OTHER countries, and various court cases because of injustices that had happened in the past.

One of our conversations centred around the Norwegian government’s treatment of the children who were born to Nazi soldiers. It then evolved into where people had originally came from. There was SO much information, and I ended up screaming “OH MY GOD WHAT THE FUCK!” when my dad told me that DNA in Malaysia had been traced back to Finland.

It seems boring, doesn’t it? But it isn’t. It’s something that has ALWAYS fascinated me. I want to know what happened in the past. I want to know why we’re the way we are, and what happened before, because there’s SO much history there – you know? It’s so overwhelming – it’s like that “oh my god the universe is too big I can’t” breakdown I had (I’ll write about that sometime).

And that’s why I love my dad. Because we can talk about anything – the deepest topics – and I can’t ever do that with my mum.

He’s got similar views to me – no, I’VE got similar views to him, because he raised me. We’ve talked about the probability of the existence of aliens, new planets, religion, evolution – and so much more. They say that a parent influences a child’s beliefs and perhaps that’s true, but I was always taught to believe in what I thought.

I’ve grown up talking to my dad about these kind of things. I was ALWAYS a curious child but at some point, that curiosity transferred into questions and those questions evolved into the discussions we have today.

I love you, Dad.

Happy Father’s Day.

13 thoughts on “Other Species of Human, The Societies in the Past and Why I Love My Dad

  1. I’m not so much similar to my Dad as I am becoming my Dad – his opinions, his tastes, even his mannerisms are reflected almost exactly in me. This might freak a lot of people out, but considering my Dad is perhaps the single person I admire most in the world, I’m totally cool with it – if we all grow up to be someone who came before us anyway, we might as well mimic an awesome person.

    Also, you’ve got an ‘I’ in italics in the penultimate paragraph, and for ages I saw it as a dash – like / – instead and I was so confused as to your point. Weak typography game.

    • Thank you! πŸ™‚ Also, you deserved the shout-out. Your post was so great. And yes, he is VERY clever; hopefully I retain SOME of his intelligence.

  2. I really enjoyed reading this, it was very heart-warming. Not so much now, but I used to be exactly like this with my dad, we would talk for hours on random theories such as what is after death or why pain exists. I believe my relationship with him has caused me to be so enquisitive about the life I live and it’s nice to see someone else in the same position. Also, I study ancient history at university, and cover several continents and go back thousands of years, so if you ever just want to talk about that, you can on Twitter x

  3. This is one of the sweetest posts I’ve read πŸ™‚
    And I just wanted to let you know that I’ve nominated you for the First Post Challenge πŸ™‚
    To know more about it, just check my blog πŸ™‚

  4. Awww, this post is so heart-warming (even though I’m not your dad πŸ˜„ ) It’s so cool that you talk about so many things. Ancestry and anthropology are something I find fascinating as well, it’s just really cool to see things in the grand scheme (though I prefer astronomy, hehe.) There are lots of stuff out there about these stuff–National Geographic makes those amazing videos that wows me to no end. I think there’s also a website, ancestry.com ? I’ve heard that it offers to do cool things like finding where your ancestors come from (for a fee though. Never really tried it so don’t really take my words… πŸ˜› )
    My dad and I, we pretty much…keep to ourselves, I think. I KNOW he cares about me and I DO care a lot about him, but I don’t really like telling him what upsets me because it’ll only upset him even more. It’s really frustrating sometimes. (Today though. Today he helped me get rid of a nasty cockroach in my room and THAT only reassures that we care about and love each other LOL )

    • Aww but that’s so so so cute! πŸ™‚ I hate cockroaches.
      I’ve heard of ancestry.com, I think. I LOVE astronomy, too – it’s SO fascinating! Just think about the stars! So MANY of them, with planets all around them, and on each planet a possibility of life.

What did you think?

