Tell Me: Are You Still Beautiful?

This post was inspired by the wonderful Every Word You Say‘s amazing post. Go check it out!

If you’re a regular reader, you should know that I don’t often talk about my disability – not because I hate talking about it, but because I don’t see (har har har) the point. I’m not someone who makes it their life goal to help people with disabilities improve their life, because my motto is “Carry on through it all, because that’s the best you can do.”

But Amy inspired me, as she often does, to talk about this.

I can’t see.

“NO WAY, ELM! It’s not like we didn’t know, or anything!”

Yeah, yeah, but the point is: I can’t see faces. I can’t see bodies, only the vague outline of them.

So, I can’t judge people in terms of beauty.

I have no concept of what beauty looks like, or what ugliness looks like. I go by the sound of someone’s voice, or their words, or the way they speak to me. I go by their personality.

Personalities can be beautiful, too. But this is my life. I’m not unhappy, really, because it’s better.

Some people say it’s sad that I can’t see what a beautiful person looks like.

The thing is, I can.

I see their personality, not their looks, and I’m happy about it.

Someone who can’t see ME can still call me beautiful. I can still call someone beautiful.

Because everyone is, in their own way, at least to me.

I’m starting to accept that. I want people to realise that this thing you call beauty is what you make it. I judge people when someone tells me of a physical feature they have, which is utterly stupid. I don’t KNOW what it looks like, so I shouldn’t.

Like I said, I often can’t stand talking about this because I sound pretentious. I’m not an inspirational person; I don’t care about my disability.

When you can’t see faces, though, you see people differently.

I’m glad of that.

Thank you for reading πŸ™‚

What do you think? What do you think beauty is? Do you like me talking about things like this, and would you like to see more of it?

From Elm πŸ™‚

74 thoughts on “Tell Me: Are You Still Beautiful?

  1. Awesome job Elm. This is probably harsh, but I’m honestly glad you don’t constantly talk/complain about your disability often (mainly cause I don’t know how to reply to those types of things, secondly because I agree with you, and think that people should just sort of, well, go through it I guess). But the new spin you put on your disability is impressive, and frankly insightful. I’m relatively amazed πŸ™‚

  2. This post is amazing. I loved reading to so much. Gosh, personalities are a lot more important then what someone looks like. I love you so much! X

  3. Okay so I dont go by looks I go by personality because thats what really matter. I mean its like liking a band for there looks not there sound. Whats the point really? I loved this post!

  4. Hey! I don’t know you but I was just wondering if you could lend a hand? You seem to have a lot of people reading your blog and at the moment no one has even glances at mine πŸ˜… no worries if not but yeah I was just wondering how you got so many followers, though if all your posts are as amazing as this one I can see why πŸ™‚

    • This comment made my day! πŸ™‚ Well I don’t even know how I got so many people. I guess I just read blogs a LOT – I read the ones from the teen and teenager tags, but you can use any tag you want. Would you like me to share your blog on Twitter? πŸ™‚ I’m actually really flattered that you came to me for advice! πŸ™‚

      • Well I’ve been reading your blog and you just seemed really nice and approachable so yeh :’) aha and oh my gosh that would be a massive help if you could do that? πŸ™‚ thank youuuuu :))) also you seem to really know your writing style, it’s like I feel like I know you but I don’t. Your blog is just really good aha πŸ™‚

      • Casually fangirling. You’re so so so nice! πŸ™‚ And yup, I’ll share your blog πŸ™‚ I’m so glad I seem approachable!

      • I hope you don’t mind I followed you on Twitter xD (not meaning to come across weird you just seem really approachable and I know we’re not friends but I just thought incase I needed to contact you on anything blog related I could? No worries if you don’t give a shit about anything I’ve just wrote :’) – regards, em x –

      • Of course I give a shit! And we can be friends if you’d like πŸ™‚ Don’t apologise for following me; I’m glad you did! πŸ™‚

  5. I recently wrote a post, ‘The Reflection in the Mirror’, that portrayed a somewhat similar message (I think).
    I totally agree with you. Personality is what makes a person beautiful, and you are lucky indeed to come across a person and look into his personality without being biased with a ‘first impression’ based on outward looks.
    (I hope that didn’t come out harsh…I’m SO sorry if it did!)

  6. That’s so right! Beauty is such an abstract concept that comes in different shapes and sizes, that it has different meanings for everyone. In fact, I’ve written a bit more in my blog-https://influentialism101.wordpress.com/2015/07/29/33/

  7. This was genuinely touching, and yet sad that the world has to be this way. Even those who try so hard not to judge people based on appearance, we so often can’t help ourselves to pay attention to it, just because we can. It’s so hard not to look at someone and not think about it, because it’s right in front of our faces. And I think you are wonderful for sharing this perspective most people don’t have, and can’t have, it’s really inspirational. Thank you for writing this post.

  8. I think you’re beautiful because of who you are and because of the things you make me and others feel with your words. I don’t know you irl and I’m not sure if I ever will but I have no doubt in my mind that your are one of the greatest people I’ll ever know.

  9. You are so amazing. I think that with everything you have been through and the challenges you face you are truly awesome and beautiful and inspiring and magical and many, many other things. I love reading your blog because I feel so inspired by you, and I can’t relate (well sort of) to the situations you deal with, and how marvellous you are! Myself, I fall into the trap of assuming things about others by their look, but I am trying sosoosososososososo hard not to, like when I walk down the street in the city, and there are homeless people sitting on their phones which is an iPhone 5 I kinda judge them…… 😦 but you are beautiful, fantastic, awesome, cool, sweet, nice, the bomb and AWESOME! :))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))

    • I… I am just in shock at how nice you are, and how lovely that comment is. Thank you so, so much; you have no idea how much that means to me. Every comment you write always makes my day, because you are one of the most uplifting people I have ever met. Thank you for being yourself, and for being the inspirational person YOU are.

  10. You’re awesome. Can’t say more right now, drowning in a shower of amazingness and inspiration that is called this post. πŸ™‚

  11. I wish everybody would be like you! Looks are overrated yet everybody thinks they matter. You see people for who they truly are and that is beautiful. You know the old saying “its whats inside that counts”, most people are incapable of seeing the inside, but you are so lucky to get to see right through a person. Personality goes further than looks in the long run. Living with a disability myself (not as drastic of course) , I have learned to accept that I see and do things differently.It was hard at first, but being unique has become something I now take pride in. What’s so cool about seeing things the same way as everybody else? what makes you stand out from the crowd? some of the most successful people are the ones who went out of the box and were able to see things others couldn’t. You have a gift Elm, do not be ashamed of it. This does not make you who you are, it doesn’t define you, it just makes you special.
    xo,
    me

    • And I wish everybody in the world were like you, because you say the loveliest things that truly DO make me feel special, in a way. And you know what it’s like to stand out, but we both don’t make a fuss and get on with it, you know? Thank you for leaving that comment. It was one of the most beautiful responses I’ve seen.

  12. elm, this was so powerful and uplifting, it made me smile, so thank you πŸ™‚ i have a feeling that we’re going to be good friends, and i just wanted to let you know that your blog is brilliant and your blog is so inspiring. your comments make my day, and overall, thank you so much.

  13. You know, my girlfriend keeps saying to me that I’m living when I say she’s very beautiful and maybe yesterday I said to her, “Beauty is tangible and everything tangible is dynamic. Your soul is like a masterpiece landscape painted, or like poetry; therefore you are beautiful to me.”

    • Thank you so much! That actually means a hell of a lot and I’m so, so glad you feel that way. πŸ™‚ I never realised I could have that affect on people!

  14. How in the world did I not find you earlier????? You seem so nice and positive and inspiring and awesome!!!!! I really love it that you are looking at the positive side of your life, and not being a whiner. I am really looking forward to reading a hell lotta more of your posts, because you are amazing!!! πŸ™‚

What did you think?

