She’s The Bravest Woman I’ll Ever Know

My grandma is deaf.

Her hearing deteriorated ever since she was 15.

When I was younger, and I went round her house, I always used to say that she was my eyes, and I was her ears.

Her hearing got so bad, recently, that she couldn’t really hear anything at all.

Yesterday, she went into have an operation for a cochlear implant. I knew she was terrified, because I know that when you lose something, the thought of getting it back is simaltaneously terrifying and exhillerating. I don’t want my sight back, but the point is I know how it could feel. Before, there was a lot of deliberation on HER part, as she tried to figure out if she wanted it or not.

I got a text from my Dad just now, saying that she was okay and that she was awake this morning, and I nearly cried out of relief.

I’m so happy, because I was worried. I’ve ALWAYS been close with Grandma, because we understand each other. I always go round to hers on Christmas Eve to have a Swedish Christmas, and I have so many memories with her.

I love my Grandma. She is the bravest woman I will ever know, and the best Grandma I could have asked for, because it took a hell of a lot of courage to have that operation. It COULD have gone wrong, but she did it anyway.

Sorry. I just had to get that off my chest. I hope you don’t mind.

If you’re going to do something, soon, that means you have to step into the unknown and you have to do something you’re scared of, do it. You might never have the chance to do it again. If you can, take inspiration from my Grandma – a woman you’ve never met – and think of it as regaining your hearing after 60 years, and the happiness you will feel after.

I hope this helps you, somehow.

From Elm πŸ™‚

33 thoughts on “She’s The Bravest Woman I’ll Ever Know

  1. This post is so inspiring and it definitely made me smile. You and your grandma both seem incredibly strong. Congratulations to her for making that decision in the first place, and I’m so happy for you both that all went well!

    • This comment is honestly so lovely πŸ™‚ Thank you so much! I’m so happy that everything is okay, too, and I need to thank you for your support.

  2. I love this post so much. I can relate to the last part so much. There have been so many times I was feeling hesitant about doing something, than when I do it it’s great. Amazing. Sadly there have been many instances of me dropping out and skipping things because I was hesitant or I didn’t feel like it. Next time something like this happens I will remember this post

  3. Grandma’s are such lovely beings! Yours seems amazing and i can tell se plays a huge role in your life! I’m glad the operation went well and that she seems happy with the outcome πŸ™‚

What did you think?

