Fear, Love, Fear

This is a half-poem, half-something, based off my last post, so read that first before you read this πŸ™‚

You say ‘Be careful!’
I say ‘I’m scared!’
You say ‘It’s too soon!’
Don’t you know I’m scared?

You tell me all these things,
I know I know I KNOW!
You say what they’ll say
But I ALREADY know!

Say I’m stupid
Say it’s dangerous
Say ‘he might not be real!’
Say I can’t
Say it’s weird
Say you don’t understand,
YOU DON’T UNDERSTAND!

Take me from my happiness
I WANT this
I WANT this

Stop me feeling, why don’t you?
I need this
Don’t you get it?

You haven’t seen me
Not the pain
Not the tears
Not the glass just shattering
Not anything
Not ANYTHING

So you can’t say
What you’d like to say
Because you don’t know
You never have

And there,
THERE,
Is why you can’t tell me I’m wrong

What works for me
Might not work for you
But it doesn’t mean it’s broken.

Hope you liked that, um, THING. And I hope you got a message out of that.

I’m curious: what do you interpret this poem as? What’s your opinion, and did you like it, and would you like to see more of my crappy ‘poetry’?

Letteth me knoweth in the comments beloweth! Er…

From Elm πŸ™‚

42 thoughts on “Fear, Love, Fear

  1. This could be a song, you know! Go give it a tune! πŸ˜€
    And, um, that Old English in the signing… *cough can’tbelieveit’ssobad cough* πŸ˜›

    • Thank you SO much! I was wondering – I’ve got a Wattpad account; should I put some poems on there? And also my short stories? I’m just not involved in the Wattpad community AT ALL.

      • ou think? Thank you! πŸ™‚ I think I might, actually! I’m just scared of the Wattpad community cause it’s so large and I can’t keep up with two communities at the same time πŸ˜€

      • Well as long as you don’t leave us (I know you never will) then you should be fine. You know maybe you’ll start a trend and more of us will go on Wattpad. You must give us a link at least πŸ™‚

  2. THIS WAS AMAZING AND I’D LIVE TO RESD MORE OF YOUR “CRAPPY” (are you kidding yourself) POETRY. I kind of read it in a tune though. This would be an amazing song.

  3. I was speechless for a moment or two. I always enjoy a nice poem, but this. This is way beyond nice, it is deep.Nowadays everyone have already written a love poem, but this one really touched me. It is explanation for all kinds of love. The first thought for me was how this is a conversation between a young, teen mommy and her baby that haven’t been born yet. Or maybe someone saying goodbye for good, my mom had cancer and I kinda stop breathing for a second when I came to “Not the pain
    Not the tears Not the glass just shattering”.
    Thank you for that. Sincerely.
    Best wishes, Katherine

    • Hi, Katherine,
      You have no idea how much this comment means to me. To have someone praise my work – but not only that, to bring my work to life with examples, and life experiences – means more to me than anything else. I’m so, so glad that you liked this; poems can be interpreted in so many different ways that it’s astounding. What you wrote was the most wonderful feedback I’ve received. Thank you so, so much.
      From Elm πŸ™‚

What did you think?

