What the hell do I believe in?

Heya – it’s Elm here πŸ™‚

Sorry about earlier. Raven and I were just freaked out as hell.

So, we still don’t know if we believe if reincarnation, or whatever this is, exists. We had a chat about whether it could be a loop of time that broke, somehow, but that created even more confusion.

To be honest, my philosophy is this:

We’ve only got one life that we remember, unless we somehow remember a past life that COULD possibly exist. Why some people remember it and others don’t, I have no idea; does that mean it only exists for SOME people and not others? That wouldn’t make sense. None of it does.

But we have only one life to live RIGHT NOW. It’s no use dwelling on whatever the hell past lives we might have had or future lives. Right now, I’m already too concerned with this one.

If reincarnation DOES exist, then what about the other religions? I don’t think I could believe that what you have in one life would determine what you get in the next – you know, as in Karma.

In fact, I have no idea what I believe just now. I don’t think I’ll ever believe in a god, or gods: I just couldn’t. I AM an Atheist, which means I do not believe in the presence of gods.

But can an Atheist believe in reincarnation? How would it work? I don’t bloody know. I honestly think I won’t believe in this, but that doesn’t mean that I have to close off my options.

There’s so much damn stuff in the world we don’t know about. I’m the type of person to be a cynic: I believe in the scientific approach. I often hate talking about this because I refuse to insult people’s religions.

I have no religion. I won’t follow rules set out in a book or scripture. I’m a bloody human and make of that what you will: I don’t want to follow something. I believe what I believe, but a documentary can’t change it.

What can change it? I suppose I can. There’s nothing divine about this: people still believe in magic. Some people still believe in the Greek or Roman gods. There’s nothing wrong with that.

Whatever the hell I end up believing in, it’s my beliefs. I know they’re mine, but I label myself an Atheist for the simple fact that evolution is what I believe in.

Reincarnation doesn’t have to oppose that. I don’t believe there is “life after death”. You die, you die. But if you DO believe in a Heaven, that’s perfectly fine. It’s what YOU believe and hell knows I have no right to judge.

What do you think? What do YOU believe in?

My beliefs are screwed up right now. Like I said, I don’t believe in any gods. That doesn’t mean that I have to believe in anything. If I believe in reincarnation, it neither makes me a Hindu nor a Buddhist, even though I have respect for those religions.

It makes me me.

I’m sorry – I’ve confused myself. I guess I’m just confused as hell right now, and I know Raven is too. When you think about it, it’s terrifying; we went round in a circle trying to talk about it.

I hope you don’t mind my ramblings. It’s difficult to describe my beliefs, such as why I believe there’s no god and I don’t believe we’re put here for a higher purpose.

If I’ve offended you, I’m sorry. I’m just putting my beliefs out there, frankly, to… Express myself, I think. Your beliefs are just as valid, if not more, than mine, because you might KNOW what you believe in.

Ugh. What the hell? I hate questioning things. It makes my head hurt. I suppose it’s more simple to just go, “EH, no God!” or “Yeah, there are Gods out there.” It’s EASIER, but I want to question things. Maybe some things exist, and others don’t; I’ve probably got it all wrong.

Thank you so much for reading. God, this post was originally just supposed to be a short one, but it’s made me think about MYSELF.

And Raven, I hope you like this. Now I can FINALLY refer to you here because I was so stuck for a name!

From Elm πŸ™‚

PS: My first writing piece should be up either today or tomorrow on my writing blog. As to what it is, I don’t know yet.

57 thoughts on “What the hell do I believe in?

  1. I recently watched a documentary similar to the one you’re talking about. It was about a young boy who was obsessed with this story that he’d lived on an island somewhere with brothers, sisters and a dog. As he got older the story got more detailed and developed and they eventually went to this island, looking for the white house. They found it. It was exactly as he’d described it and the whole story fit together perfectly. Weirddd, I couldn’t sleep for days!
    As for me, I’m Christian πŸ™‚ Em x

  2. I also dislike talking about it, but I have had really meaningful discussions on religion with open minded friends and colleagues. Just avoid the ones that ‘preach’ or a bit judgemental, if you get what I mean! I feel as if those people are somehow missing the point of their religious ideas.
    X

      • We discussed the similarities between religions such as Christianity, Hinduism and Islam, and as mentioned, the people who can be nice until they begin trying to force their beliefs on you – I often see people preaching loudly in the streets in the town centre now which is distracting at best.
        I also told them about how, on paperwork and casually, I identify as Buddhist and agree with a lot of the beliefs but how I don’t actively practice and celebrate my religion (and don’t actually know that much about it) which many people might view as a bad thing.
        X

  3. Huh. This is such an interesting discussion–I love it! πŸ˜‰
    I’m a Christian and I believe in God, but I disagree with other Christians trying to press others who aren’t yet ready to accept Jesus. I’m honestly more liberal than most–specifically with standards, I guess. If people don’t believe what I do, I don’t necessarily AGREE with them, but I don’t hold anything against them personally. Sometimes I even feel judged because my family is so non-conventional compared to others in the church community.
    I don’t believe in reincarnation because I think we only have one life, and then once we die we go to heaven. It’s kind of a reassuring thought, tbh.
    xx, Sunny

    • I love this! πŸ™‚ How come you feel judged? I guess it’s really good not to press your beliefs on people – I find there are some people who try to ‘save’ me – one of my friends has been told they’re going to Hell.
      What do you think Heaven is like?

      • Well a lot of Christians are CRAZY conventional (as in, wear super appropriate clothes, listen only to worship music, always vote Republican, etc.). But I’m against the mold on that. I believe what the Bible says and I trust in Jesus to save me, but that doesn’t mean I’m going to dress like a nun and not listen to the radio, if that makes any sense. So sometimes, when I wear short shorts or act goofy, I feel like other Christians are like, looking down their noses at me. Christians should still be able to have fun! I think that’s part of the reason so many people don’t want to become a part of Christianity, because people build up our reputation as being stuffy and stuck-up.
        I think heaven is perfect. There is no pain or suffering, and all who believe in Jesus will go there when they die. It says in the Bible that the roads are made of gold and everything is beautiful. That’s about all we know for sure though, so we’re kind of left to make our own assumptions πŸ™‚

      • It does sound lovely πŸ™‚ Christians shouldn’t judge you, because you’re expressing your beliefs differently. I was just wondering, what do you think happens to non-believers?

      • Honestly, as much as I hate to say it, it says in the Bible that all who do not believe in God will go to hell. Not to run anyone into the ground or anything….ugh :/

      • Not your fault! πŸ™‚ It’s just something that is.
        I’ve just had a thought: wouldn’t it be strange is all religions exist?

      • Oh, gotcha. Well that’d be cool but I think all the religions are too conflicting. They all have different views about God or subjective/objective truths and I just don’t know how it would work out. Unless you were to pull what you liked from different religions, but that’s a religion in itself. What do you think?

  4. I’m a specific type of Christian, but I believe in the premortal world and being sent to Earth to learn and then going back to live with God again after we die.
    And alot more obviously but that is a large part called the Plan of Salvation.

    • That would kind of make sense. So, after you die, where do you think we go? And do we just learn from this life? I’m really interested πŸ™‚

      • I believe that we go to heaven or outer darkness (hell in fancy terms), but there are 3 kingdoms of heaven.
        Celestial, Terestrial, and Telestial depending on what you did in your life with the knowledge you had. (If you didn’t know about the church you wouldn’t be judged for not following it)
        And the point of coming to Earth was to learn, form families, and get bodies.

        My favorite part is that we believe in eternal families so in heaven you will still be able to be with your spouse and/or family. So if parents get sealed in the temple their children are automatically with them in heaven, or you can get sealed as a family later in life, or even be sealed to your parents after they pass away.

        There’s obviously a whole lot more so if you want to know more I wouldn’t mind sharing πŸ™‚

  5. Sometimes stuff like that is a topic I avoid, too. My family is kind of religious but I consider myself an Atheist because I’m still figuring out what I believe. πŸ™‚

  6. Love your rambly posts! πŸ™‚ And if you were interested, I have been brought up as a Christian. At this point, I’m not too sure on what I believe in, although I love the thought that there is always someone watching over you and guiding you. And I’d like to think that Heaven exists… And that people we know are there now. Instead of just dead. And dead forever. That’s quite deep. I can’t think about life without going way too deep and being like WHOAH! πŸ™‚

    • I know the feeling exactly! πŸ™‚ Hmm… So if Heaven exists and you do go there, do you think you’d meet your family – and what ages would they be? I’ve always wondered about what people think about this.

      • Not sure… I like to think that you can find your family. And I’d hope they’d all be middle sort of age? So not super young, but in your adult body and not all wrinkly like an old person… I don’t know… Guess we’ll find out what happens one day!

  7. Ooh, your beliefs are very interesting! I’m permanently questioning my own as well, having an all Christian family, but not feeling the same way. I think I’m an agnostic – I accept the possibility of some kind of God/presence thing, and I think indeed there might be some kind of purpose or higher being (I hate that phrase, as I think it sounds ridiculous) but I’m not really sure what, and I don’t identify with any religion’s belief system, or representation of whatever “God” there may be. 100% still figuring it out, though. xxxx

What did you think?

