We’re People

So, over breakfast, dad and I were discussing politics (because we’re like that) cause, of course, the Labour Leader was going to be announced whilst we were eating.

AND DAMNIT, I’M SO GLAD JEREMY CORBYN WON.

Yeah, I said that. I’m 15 and interested in politics. I’m not even ashamed of it because, for fuck’s sake, I have a right to be. We all do.

I’m glad he won because he cares. I’m glad he won because he talks about things that MATTER. I’m glad he won because when I hear his speeches, I’m not checking for the intonations in his voice that mean he’s lying, because I don’t need to.

I’m glad he won because he talks about us. He talks about young people, and THEY bothered to vote. They cast their vote like they HAVEN’T done in the past because he says what he’ll do and doesn’t spout crap. He talks about Syrian refugees and says they’re PEOPLE, not luggage or anything like that.

And you know what?

If saying I’m interested in politics gives me a negative label, so be it. I have to grow up in this country. In the next General Election, I’m casting my vote and I want to know what I’m getting myself into.

People shouldn’t be ashamed to admit they follow campaigns. We’re not the tools in a box; we’re the people that wield the tools, for God’s sake.

I mean, who knows? Maybe it’ll all go to hell and he’ll screw up, but we have this for now.

Ugh. I feel invigorated, because I just watched the reaction when Jeremy Corbyn’s leadership was announced. I want to do something, REALLY do something, but right now there’s nothing I can do apart from talking about it.

I don’t really know what the political systems in other countries are like, but I’d LIKE to learn. I’d never be a politician, but I’m someone that recognises that people are people and they’re not their country.

Gah, think I need to calm down. I don’t often talk about stuff like this on here, so I hope it’s okay πŸ™‚ If you like these kinds of posts, let me know! Just needed to let off some steam.

What do you think? About politics, I mean?

From Elm πŸ™‚

37 thoughts on “We’re People

  1. it’s cool you’re interested in politics , i’m not because i don’t really understand it . But I feel like teens nowadays have a lot of power with all these technology and if enough of us cared about elections and polics , we can have who we want for president or anybody we want . I know this is going to sound cheesy but We can change the world the way we want it to be. So it’s really cool you’re into it πŸ™‚

  2. Elm, you don`t need to wait until you can vote to do something about the society you`re living in! πŸ™‚ To answer your question – yes, I`m interested in politics, but don`t trust them politicians too much because they say so much, but never do anything. . I really hope Jeremy does something good for the UK, but I`m afraid he might just end up lke Mr. Obama when it comes to blabbering, haha. All the best!
    Here in Norway you have to be 18 to vote, so I`m voting for my first time every tomorrow!! πŸ˜€

  3. I love that you’re interested in politics! Our presidential election is next year, so that’s like the basis of every conversation between me and my dad. Politics are so refreshing, because they’re all about change and fixing broken things and making the world better, even if it doesn’t always seem that way. So I think it’s super awesome that you’re interested in politics. It’s a great thing to enjoy πŸ™‚

      • I haven’t entirely decided yet! I agree with different stances on a lot of the candidates. At one point, I supported Hillary Clinton, but Donald Trump’s tax policies are genius, even though I hate him. I really like Bernie Sanders’ education reforms though. Ughhhh, America needs all kinds of fixing.

  4. I think its so awesome that you’re interested it politics because it helps me that im not some random kid that agrues the bit when somebody is wrong politically, I saw Corbyn on the news, and even though im not for Labour as SNP is where i stand but i bet he will be a man to do many great things.

    πŸ™‚

      • Thanks! Honestly, you people are one a mission to make my smile so big that my face cracks! Some of your posts are like that and some of them are influential and mind-blowing, ya know? You have a gift with words, young lady. But wield it wisely: With great power, come great responsibility. *nods solemnly until I can’t take it anymore and decides to start dancing, and by dancing I mean flopping around like I’ve been tasered* But seriously, I really enjoy hearing your opinion. πŸ™‚
        -NIkki

  5. I’m not into politics much but I keep up with important stuff here in Australia… like gay marriage not being legalised for God’s sake, and turning back the boats and taking in the least refugees, and spilling crap all over the Great Barrier Reef. Hmph. 😦 Anyways, it’s cool that you’re into politics – it probably gives you a broader perspective or something, right?

      • I know, right?! I really want it to happen but every time it comes close to being legalised the opportunity disappears!

      • Honestly, I don’t even know. I can’t being to grasp the concept. Maybe if I was super into politics and current affairs I would, but even then in my opinion it should definitely be legalised, and I can’t see how two people loving each other is illegal.

What did you think?

