I don’t get crushes on appearance, but the alternative’s worse

So I just remembered this HORRIFYING crush on this boy I had in year 8 for about a year… And the small one I had on someone I’d never spoken to in year 10… And that bad one in year 9…

OKAY OKAY. You know how a lot of people say that blind people can’t have crushes on someone’s appearance, and how that’s good because they won’t judge? YEAH, that’s true, but…

At least for me, I find other things to crush on. Oho, let’s jump right in.

In year 8, I had a HUGE crush on this boy – I won’t name him or even make a codename for him – for a year. I was CONVINCED I was in love with him – so much so that I would literally imagine what it would be like to be married to him and oh god no what even… And you know WHY I had a crush on him?

BECAUSE OF HIS VOICE. And the way he spoke in class. What the hell?! (I mean, he was also really intelligent and I had a massive crush on that, and there were probably other reasons, but seriously I thought I was so grown up and it was SO superficial).

And then, there was this time at the end of year 10 – or year 9 I can’t remember. Each year, we have an assembly where somebody usually plays music at the beginning or at the end, and that year this guy played piano.

AND HOLY SHIT, I GOT A CRUSH ON HOW HE PLAYED PIANO. (Red, if you’re reading this, don’t laugh; I know you know who this is and if you show him I’ll kill you). I didn’t have a CRUSH on the guy, but I was obsessed with him for about a day, so it counts.

Seriously, though, his piano playing was amazing. And beautiful. And I said how amazing and beautiful it was and then I was told he was standing RIGHT IN FRONT OF ME when I said that… Yah, thanks, Willow and Pine.

Argh… There have been others. Like the time I fancied someone purely because they made me laugh on one occasion, or the time I was literally OBSESSED with somebody… Hmmm… Let’s not go into that.

The point is, I have had SO many superificial crushes on people; I’m not exactly immune. I don’t get crushes on the colour of someone’s eyes; I get crushes on the way they say (x squared plus 12.”

I hope you enjoyed reading that! Or perhaps I’m just blabbering about nonsense. If you like these kinds of posts, do let me know!

What are some of the seriously weird crushes you’ve had on people? Please tell me I’m not alone!

From Elm πŸ™‚

22 thoughts on “I don’t get crushes on appearance, but the alternative’s worse

  1. Lmfaooo. I had a crush on this boy in my class coz he had nice arms, and he wore his shirt with the sleeves rolled up, and it gave me major headrushes. I can sooo relate. πŸ˜‚

  2. Don’t worry, I’ve had a crush on someone because of their height. And not because he was over 6ft. He was just over 5t. Which meant him and I were nearly the same height and I thought of that as a ‘match made in heaven’. It’s silly thinking back on it!

  3. Oh god. Don’t even make me think about some of my bad crushes… “Because he could do backflips” was the rationale for one in primary school. Also “because everyone teases him”… It’s not good -_- x

  4. I GET SUCH VOICE CRUSHES. Music at school is too difficult, because I swoon every time someone starts absent-mindedly singing. (I find guitar playing so cute? Like, UGH. <3)

    • HELP ME I know how you feel! In another assembly someone played guitar and OH MY LIFE, the tune, the way they played, I just couldn’t. Also, males who sing – I can’t help it, I get massive crushes.

  5. I’m so glad I’m not the only that gets weird crushes! I got a crush on this boy who had picked on me for three years, just because he said thank you when I held a door open for him! πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ How messed up is that? I can’t believe I thought he had changed! πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

  6. Hahaha, how did I know the first one was going to be his voice?! I’ve had a crush since this guy was really funny and played the best evil pranks πŸ˜›

  7. Hhaha this is amazing! I’m pretty sure way back when in the elementary school days I had a crush on someone because they gave me the little piece of paper (it was butterfly shaped, if that strengthens my argument any) that comes out of a holepunch… like, what? WHY?! hahahah You are so not alone!

  8. Yeah same for me , like yeh, can’t remember any particular one at the moment, cos they are from like few year or more ago!!! And they weren’t that important to me now so I don’t kniww but my minds blank!!!

What did you think?

