The Kindest People

Yesterday, I found the most beautiful Twitter account. Somebody, in my year at my school, had set up an account where you send in something nice about someone, and they post it.

I don’t have words for how great that made me feel. Somebody took time out of their day to do something so lovely. The things said – mostly about our year – were so unlike the awful rumours and ‘gossip’ that people post on twitter sometimes. It’s almost the expected thing now for someone at our school to create a ‘gossip’ account or ‘polls’ account, just spreading stupid shit and hate.

I messaged that account, asking how it worked, and they said “Just send in a compliment about someone, and we’ll post it!” Then, we got to talking.

I don’t know who this person is. Boy, girl, popularity, half of the year – the only things I know is that they are a wonderful person, and that I’ve spoken to them a little bit. It could be anyone, but does it matter?

Like I said, we talked. We said how kindness costs nothing, and that we’ve restored our faith in humanity just a little. It was so nice to talk to someone without having prejudgements of them first. I don’t know who they are, but it was lovely to see that there are decent, kind people in our year, our school, our lives.

It was almost shocking. They mentioned me by name on the page, saying how my words had put a smile on their face, and that means more to me than anything else. It’s so rare that someone would mention me – I’m not popular by any stretch of the imagination. I’m sometimes viewed as the girl that’s just there, who’s in the weird group in one corner of the playground.

To me, it doesn’t matter who they are. As long as they’re kind and a good person, I can consider them a friend, because they talked to ME, someone who doesn’t reach out socially, and that means a lot.

The kindest people can be found out of the best situations. Always remember that. Never throw away an opportunity for friendship because of social “barriers” or whatever you want to call them.

In fact, you know what? I want to try something. From now on, as often as I can, I’m going to talk to people I might not usually talk to. Bloggers, or people at school – it doesn’t matter.

I’m going to try and be nice. It sounds simple, but it’s just the little things. There’s no point in arguing and spreading rumours, because kindness doesn’t cost. It might seem so stupid and clichΓ© for me to say this, like I’m one of those teachers in assembly who preaches at you, but just think about it. No matter what religion, background, gender, ethnicity or ANYTHING you are, this message applies to everyone.

Actually, YOU try it. It’s only a little thing, but makes you feel a hell of a lot happier. One thing I learned yesterday was that social groups and popularity don’t count for shit, because I can say “Hi” just as easily to anyone. Getting the courage to do that is something else, but we’ll manage.

I’m done with socially excluding myself. People CAN be nice in this world; perhaps I’ll just start with my year group and expand from there.

So, what do you think? Good plan?

From Elm πŸ™‚

36 thoughts on “The Kindest People

  1. Whoever is running that account, they are amazing. What a kind and wonderful idea! And I find that when you go out of your way to do something nice for someone you don’t know that well it makes you feel ten times better. πŸ™‚

  2. Just go for it. You’re really nice as regards welcoming new bloggers, and doing this will make you much happier, so yeah. Go for it. Do what makes you happy and others happy too. πŸ˜€

What did you think?

