Live

There was something that Birch said to me once that at the time, I didn’t take in but now, I’m starting to take it on board. I want you to hear it too, because I think we ALL need it. Funny that, because my feelings for him at the time are so far removed from what they are now, but no matter: it still applies.

I was stressing over homework and he said something like this to me:

“Elm! What have I told you about worrying? You just have to live your life. Have a laugh. Life’s too short.”

And DAMN, he’s right. I wish I’d listened to him sooner, but I’m listening to him now. I’m listening to EVERYONE now.

Unless you believe in reincarnation, you only have one life. And even if you DO believe in reincarnation, you only have one life NOW, so live it.

I want you to know that you’ve always got support. But DON’T lock yourself away in sadness, if you can help it. Smile. Laugh. Feel as light as air and grab every opportunity that comes your way.

I’ve learned something recently. I’ve learned that no matter what, I shouldn’t take life so seriously. I’m NOT stuck in a rut of misery, because I have people to help me and besides, I’m ME and I’m here and I’m living. I’ll CONTINUE living, as best as I can.

You do that, too. It’s going to be difficult – for me, and maybe for you too – but we’ll manage. We’ll balance deep thinking and laughter, because it’s the only thing we can do.

It’s clichΓ©, but I don’t want you to just survive.

I want you to LIVE.

From Elm πŸ™‚

17 thoughts on “Live

  1. You do live, you can hear it in your writing, telling us of all the adventures you’ve had, all of your struggles and achievements. It may not seem like much but maybe if you go back to your first post you might be able to see how you have grown as a person. I know this sounds really weird but i’m serious!

    • It doesn’t sound weird – it sounds like a great idea! I think I’m going to have a MASSIVE read-through of all my early posts, just to see how I’ve grown. πŸ™‚

What did you think?

