I’m a Blogger

Now I think on it, my style of blogging has changed SO much over this past year. I mean, even when I got my blog in March, I wrote differently. It’s weird.

It’s not important, but my influx of followers has varied, too, and I’m wondering what makes people follow me. I sometimes get gripped by this fear that I’m losing my ‘blogging touch’, or that I don’t write how I used to and so people will hate me, which is bloody RIDICULOUS.

I consider myself a blogger, and I take pride in that title. I try to help as many people as I can, and though that’s not changed, the way I help has. I should really skype more bloggers, more often; the weekends would be good for me if anyone wants to πŸ™‚ I just sometimes like to know the voice behind the words, if that makes sense, though again it’s not important.

What makes Elm who I am? What features make up who I am on my blog that lets people like it and lets people follow it, taking interest in what I say? I’m guessing you guys, if you’ve got blogs, get that as well. You just wonder why, and you’re scared that one day, nobody’s going to care.

The thing is, when that day comes, I’ll still be writing. I’ll still do what I do best: pouring my thoughts out and if someone likes those thoughts, that makes my week. I compare myself to other people and other bloggers, sometimes, but really that’s ALSO stupid because they’re all my friends.

What matters is how you express yourself. It’s strange, though, how that’s changed for me. I’m not even sure who I was back in March, because those were some of the worst days and then months I’ve ever experienced, but now I’m more okay. You can see remnants of the things I “went through” which weren’t even that serious. I haven’t changed fundamentally, but I hope I’ve grown enough as a person to realise what actually matters.

What do you think? If you started your blog a while ago, have you changed too, and do you get scared sometimes? It’s okay to be – things like popularity don’t matter, but we all get worried occasionally

From Elm πŸ™‚

47 thoughts on “I’m a Blogger

  1. If your writing HAS changed, it’s only got better. I think we all admire you and look up to YOU, so I wouldn’t worry about no-one ever not reading your posts. You’re amazing, never forget that xx

    • Em, I admire you for your kind words and the fact that you’re always here, for everyone, no matter what. Thank you for being you, you AMAZING girl πŸ™‚

  2. I LOVE LOVE LOVE your blog and everything you write. Thank you so much for what you write in your posts and for what you write in comments πŸ™‚ I promise I will not stop reading your posts x

    • You are brilliant and you just brightened up my week πŸ™‚ Thank you, as always! Your words are just so lovely and they mean a lot to me. I’m SO glad I found your blog.

  3. God I missed reading your blog, I love your writing haha. But yes, I completely agree with everything you said, it translates to actual life as well. Less so now but I used to always worry about what people thought of me etc, also ridiculous.

  4. I sometimes wonder why people are following me too . but your blogging style is definitely warm and inviting . IT reads as if you’re directly talking to us and like everything you’re thinking is immedialty copying to the paper and that’s really amazing . But you’re also growing and Improving and getting stronger in the way you voice stuff .
    I follow because of those reasons πŸ™‚

    • That makes me feel so, so much better about myself, you know that? Just to know that people are following me for genuine and wonderful reasons. Thank you – I follow you cause you’re ALWAYS relatable, and you’ve ALWAYS been kind to me. I value that so much.

  5. I feel like every blogger on here knows you. It’s so funny because yours was the first blog I read the first blog I followed and I always think change is good even if it’s bad because the world can’t stay the same so why must we! I love your blog and you are probably one of the nicest person I have have net through social media πŸ™‚

  6. I think people follow you because you’re just so REAL, Elm. You pour your heart out to us, and share your life, your thoughts, and let us take part in that. You treat your followers amazingly and develop I true relationship with them, that’s why we always return. It also helps that your writing style is really captivating. You could be telling us a story about how you clipped your nails and it would still be a thriller.
    Most importantly, the way you are now is perfect. But if you feel like you want to change, do NOT hesitate because really all we want to see is you, just the way you’re comfortable in.
    As for me, I do think I have changed my blogging style. When I first started it was all book and music reviews, weak attempts at humor, and tags. Now, all I feel like posting is my thoughts, what’s happening in my life, and just writing (even if it can be qualified as awful and useless *coughmirandaficscough*). I’m just doing what I feel like doing, and it’s satisfying πŸ™‚

    • BLOODY HELL, EXACTLY! Anthony, you are amazing πŸ™‚ Thank you for ALWAYS being so kind to me and making me feel like my blog’s actually worth something. THAT means a lot to me. Also, DO post about your thoughts! I love reading about them.

      • Stoppit ur makin me blutsh ^o^ OF COURSE your blog is worth something. Every piece of writing is worth something, otherwise it wouldn’t exist. You’re a real inspiration Elm; even when you’re at your worst we can relate to you. KEEP WRITING AND BEING AWESOME (OMFG THE AWESOME-BLOGGER-AWARD-THINGY I FORGOT ABOUT THAT WE NEED TO MAKE IT HAPPEN ASAP)

      • Oh my god I totally forgot about that!!! We must make it happen. Also, you’re amazing. Don’t forget that πŸ™‚ and if you do, I’ll remind you. Constantly. It will get annoying, but I don’t care muahaha!

  7. I started writing for reals only recently and since I’m an aspiring editor, just reading again through what I’ve written makes me known that its crap. Sometimes I proof it, sometimes I don’t. Ever since I started my blog, I try to write what I feel and only check for typos and post it. After getting it out there, I don’t feel that need to change it completely. I’m learning πŸ™‚

    • I’m so glad of that, because changing what you write at its core isn’t right for me. You write, you get it out there, and that’s your raw emotions. It’s GOOD to have them. πŸ™‚

What did you think?

