Like Old Times

Because of my KIND OF lack of good eyesight, I do PE separately a lot of the time to my friends, and I have to exercise with my VI helper (urgh urgh urgh). I used to hate it so much – still do – but then sometimes, my friends came along with me. Willow – one of the first and best friends I made in secondary school – used to always go with me, and it was like our tradition, until she stopped and Odd took her place for a little, but in recent weeks I’ve been doing it by myself. I don’t MIND – it’s not the best – but I live for days like today. I’ll explain.

Willow and I aren’t as close as we were, which breaks my heart – she has different friends and we never talk any more when before, we knew each other so well. It started right in the middle of last year – year 10 – and we just don’t seem to click any more, which is a shame. Except, we did today.

So, I’d got changed and was just walking over to one of the buildings where we do PE with Willow. She didn’t HAVE to go with me, but everyone else was gone and she didn’t know where she was going. My VI helper – really they’re a TA (teaching assistant) came up to us, and our conversation went a little like this:

“Hi Elm, is Willow coming along with you?”

(Pause) “Um I’m not really sure… Willow, you wanna?”

(Another pause) “I really don’t mind.”

“Ohh, okay, we might as well. For old times?”

“Yeah, why not?”

We’d been talking previously, about God knows what, but we went into the gym and went on some exercise bikes and just TALKED and laughed.

I have never felt so happy as I did then. EXERCISING – which I hate – along with Willow made me realise why we are friends, and why we work. We can STILL talk to each other: sure, it isn’t like before, but no matter. We’ve changed but we still know each other.

We said we needed to meet up, ESPECIALLY after she goes to another college when I’m at sixth form. We talked about her sister, people in our year, Prom dresses, my boyfriend, her Badminton crush, EVERYTHING. When we walked into the changing rooms at the end, we were laughing so hard that we nearly cried, acting like complete idiots in the comfortable way we did before.

And like I said, I was happy. We’re NOT as close, and you can tell that, but I don’t care. I had this – I had TODAY – which just reminds me who she is and who I am and about our friendship. We talked about old memories from the past and I remembered. Unlike with Ash, these memories make me smile and think of the old days.

Speaking of Ash, I got some pretty bad reminders on the way to school today because I remembered when he said we would meet up in the Easter holidays and it hurt so much because that was the time we broke friends. I was originally going to devote an entire post to it, but FUCK YOU ASH you only get a paragraph. I kept on thinking “What if?” and it scares me because I still can’t stand him now. But oh well – that doesn’t matter, because I had a good day and his memory can’t ruin it.

Do you ever get those days with old friends which make you feel so nostalgic, but a HAPPY kind of nostalgia? Where you miss them, but you have this to hold onto?

From Elm πŸ™‚

49 thoughts on “Like Old Times

  1. I’m breaking apart from my best friends at the moment and they have been so snide about things (like the way i look) even though they know how unhappy i can get!
    They also pretty much shouted my problems to the ENTIRE skl in the computer lab yesterday and everyone stared at me (which i hate)!
    If your being treated badly by your best friends, ignore them, it annoys them so much!
    Luv
    GeorgieGrl

  2. I’m meeting up with my old friend in eleven days and I can’t wait, I haven’t spoken to her in a while. Great post by the way! 😊 xx

  3. It sucks when you’re no longer close with a person regardless of all the memories but I’m glad you had the chance to speak to Willow. As long as you both make the effort, you’ll find a way to be involved in each others lives whether it being big or small (:

  4. Aw it’s pretty sweet that you got to feel closer with her again even if it’s not the same. It’s nice to not let your friendship slip away either as it’s hard losing contact with someone you once cared for because all you have left are cherished memories.

  5. I’ve gone through a lot of friends, for my whole primary school life I had a different friendship group each year, yet I can still talk to most of those people because even though we drifted apart we still have some sort of friendship, and we still have similarities.

  6. Thats great to hear that you’re happy Elm and Willow sounds like a great person too πŸ™‚

    When I finished primary, me and all my friends moved to different parts of the country and very different schools. I did talk to them regularly through social media but just things like “how are you”, “lets meet up” but it already felt like we were all moving on with life. We delayed our meet up for 4 years and when we did decide to meet up, it was not the same and we really couldn’t connect. It was pretty hard because I live so far away from all of them that they could meet up every month while I couldn’t.

    • God, that’s so sad, but you know – people move on, you make new friends; it’s heartbreaking but it’s a part of life. And at least you had the closure of a meet-up not working so well. I know how that feels – I go to a different school than ALL my primary school friends.

  7. I love those days where you reconnect but then I especially hate when things go back to “normal” after and your back not really talking anymore. Ya know?

  8. I have this friend where we seperated. We were friends when we were in elementary. We were very close and in graduation, we drifted apart.

    I will always message him in Facebook but he won’t reply. It is our only source of communication and… err!

  9. That sounds like an amazing day! You know, even I live for days where everything is uncomplicated and just pure fun. I’m glad you had a good time with Willow;)

What did you think?

