Let’s Give Advice, When Stressed

I ALWAYS DO THIS! I ALWAYS say I’m going on a break, and then come back here. A bit awkward, but there you go.

Well, I was originally going to write a really thought provoking post about the past and getting over it, but I did that yesterday. I completely ran out of inspiration, so THIS is the post de la shit for today. Do NOT enjoy it. GOD my blogging style is screwed up today.

I was just thinking: do you ever get that awful feeling where you feel like you’re neglecting some friends? Not because I have loads – I DON’T – but I have enough that if I spend some time with one, I feel guilty because I want to make sure the others are okay. It’s not my JOB, but they’re my friends and they get me through the hard times.

It’s easy to get swept away in a friendship and forget the old ones you had before. I’m guilty of it, and people I know are too; I can think of so many examples. I bet you’ve done it too at some point, and that’s okay to admit it. I’d rather you DID, because admitting your faults means that you can work on them.

I guess this post was sparked off because I realised I hadn’t dropped a simple ‘Hey, how are you?’ to some friends in a while. It’s funny how, when friendships are left to the side, they just… Disappear, or fade. It’s part of life.

I WANT to fix those friendships, but it’s awful because I don’t have TIME? Friendship, for me, comes above all else and I ‘pride’ myself on being loyal. I want to help so many people, and DAMN, it’s not necessarily a good thing.

If some friends are more distant than they were, that’s okay. If you had an argument, it’s not too late to resolve it – either with them or in your mind. YOU’RE the one in control of YOUR feelings, because for God’s sake, they’re yours.

But you’re not superman, woman or person. It’s so clichΓ© to say this, but you can’t do EVERYTHING. Trust me, I know that; think about it like an elastic band: you stretch it too much and it snaps and breaks. I don’t want your band to break. Don’t stretch yourself to the limits.

I don’t want to turn into someone who ALWAYS does advice things, or whines about their life, so I’m doing both. I relate my advice to things that have happened to me, because I don’t want to yell things at you. I’ve always thought that seems impersonal, because if you’re someone like me, you HAVE to back things up with your own story, but then people won’t – and YOU won’t – understand your reasons for saying things.

I hope it’s okay. Remember, no matter what: it’s YOU who can force your face to smile, to laugh, but it’s people that can help you do that. Then again, you’re the person that can make that step, after months of silence, and say ‘Hey!’.

From Elm πŸ™‚

44 thoughts on “Let’s Give Advice, When Stressed

  1. Thanks for posting this. I feel like I have been neglecting some of my friends too. Maybe I should make it a late new years resolution – to make sure all of my friendships last! πŸ™‚ x

  2. I love this post as at the moment, girls in my friendship group haven’t spoken to each other for months and its affecting out whole group! I always feel bad when I’m sitting with one of the girls and then I feel bad on the other if I go up and make it up to the other one by speaking to her. I know its not my job but I still feel bad you know? xx

  3. That’s the thing about u Elm! Seriously,you actually put efforts to do something and honestly you’re great at it. I’ve had so many ignorant friends and I don’t think they’ve ever thought of saying hi to me. If you do something teeny bit wrong it’s like you’re obliged to make it right. And that’s the most greatest thing about u πŸ’œπŸ’œ

  4. You’re right. You can’t do EVERYTHING. But you can try. Why don’t you try texting some of your friends or reaching out to them? Maybe they’d be happy to. I find it sad how some of my friendships drift apart, I’ve lost a few friends. But that’s because neither of us put in the effort and I’ve resolved to make MORE effort with my friends this year because they all blimming deserve it πŸ™‚

  5. So true. In my first five years of primary school, I had a different friendship group every single year, but I was really close with all of them. Because you change, and people change. πŸ™‚

  6. Hi Elm πŸ™‚

    This post is true on a whole new level. I’d done a post on Change before because well, I was in the middle of drifting away from people I used to call my “closest friends” so this speaks to me πŸ™‚

  7. I feel like I would do the same if I were on a hiatus – just keep on coming back and posting things hehe but hey! It shows that you really care about blogging 😊 also you’re so right, we can’t do everything but we can do what we can! I’ve moved to so many schools and lost so many friends just because I ( and also them ) don’t try to interact anymore, it’s really sad but as you said, that’s how life works.

  8. This post reminded me that I should probably organise to see my friends. With it being school holidays and everything, I haven’t seen them in a month, and I feel really guilty.

  9. Love this! I often find myself neglecting friends that I don’t see all the time, and then I remember and feel bad. But I’ve found that if it’s true friendship you can often just pick up where you left off πŸ™‚

  10. I love this post! Kinda reminds me of my friends and me. SO we were a group of three, we aren’t anymore, and we hung around together. So if I went talking to the other girl, the other one stopped talking to me. If I went to her, the other stopped talking to me and then all three of us had an argument but at least one of us understood and tried to solve the fight. We used to go to the library after school and sort our matters out. SO instead of reaching home at 2 i reached at four sorting things out everyday!! But it was fun! I laughed a lot and gained a lot of experience!

What did you think?

