Deleting a Post Doesn’t Make you Fake

I just deleted a post.

A published one. It’s the second time I’ve done it – the first was one that was so horrible and triggering that I never want to read it again and the second?

This one was CRAP. I didn’t delete it because I got no likes – I’m not that person – I deleted it because I didn’t like it. Something about it REPELLED me.

I HATE editing myself on the Internet. I want to show you guys the real me, the whole me, the me that writes stupid things and can be INSUFFERABLE. So, WHY did I delete that post?

I guess I wanted to. I got angry at it, and furious at my (shitty) blogging style. I’m not angry now, just a bit frustrated.

Deleting a post doesn’t make you a fake person, or someone who panders to an audience with no original thoughts of their own.

You aren’t betraying yourself if you delete something. I don’t often do it, because I feel weird if I do, but if YOU do there’s nothing wrong with it.

You’re you and if you want to delete something, DAMN WELL DO IT unless it’s going to cause you pain.

In other news, I did my first mock today and it went surprisingly well. I have THREE tomorrow though, which is going to be hell. Have you had them, or are you going to have them soon?

From Elm πŸ™‚

60 thoughts on “Deleting a Post Doesn’t Make you Fake

  1. DON’T WORRY ABOUT THE DELETING THING! it’s not worth stressing over, there’s absolutely no reason not to πŸ™‚ I finished my mocks TODAY! (last was further maths, ouch :/) and so far the results I’ve had back have actually been pretty good, all As and A*s so yay for that! Good luck with yours, I only had one day of 3 (music, English language and I think physics) but just think of it as getting them out the way in a big lump πŸ™‚ glad your RS (right?) mock went well!! πŸ™‚

    • YAY WOOOO! πŸ™‚ ARGH further maths sounds awful thank goodness I don’t do it! We’ve got mocks in everything, but only SOME of each thing – unit 2 for all the sciences, one question from lang and lit paper each. from English, that sort of thing.

  2. I don’t, or won’t ever, think your posts or blogging style is shitty! Wanna talk about shitty? Read mine! Anyways, *cough* back to business, I love this post!! *squeal* yeah!!!! Ya! I love this post because its true and because it shows how good of a blogger you are, so don’t UNDERESTIMATE yourself!! And about mocks, I have them at the end of 2016 so I am free for now!! Anyways, all the best! For the rest of your mocks and tell me how it went!! SO that I am prepared already! HAHA!! πŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒπŸ˜‰πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‰πŸ˜πŸ˜πŸ˜πŸ˜œπŸ˜œπŸ˜œβ€β€β€πŸ’œπŸ’œπŸ’ƒπŸ’ƒπŸ’ƒπŸ’ƒ

  3. My mocks begin next week! My schedule looks pretty good with good revision time so I’m not too fussed about last minute panic sessions.
    I was just thinking about going through my posts because, even though our blogs are different styles, mine includes product reviews that I just… reviews that I would not want to read myself, totally not detailed. I’m thinking about updating them instead but for some, it really might be better to delete. Plus it frees up picture space, in my case.
    Good luck for your exams!

    X

  4. Thinking about it now, I don’t think I’ve ever deleted a post. And I have some SUPER crappy ones from way back when…but truthfully, I think it’s because I’m just too lazy to go back that far XD

  5. I had my mocks back in November and I had two each day. The exam hall was freezing cold and it was so hard to write as my hands were literally freezing. Although I did get B’s A’s and A*’s so that is a plus πŸ™‚ I have a further maths mock next week (which I am dreading) although I do get to miss physics for it (which is always a plus πŸ˜‰ ). I then have more mocks in March. ITS SO MUCH REVISION!

  6. Good luck with your mocks, and it is totally okay to delete stuff. And btw your blogging style is awesome, this is why you have all these people telling you how great you are!

  7. Good luck with your mocks! And it’s perfectly fine to delete stuff, I know I’m going through my old stuff on my blog and slowly making it either ri ate or trash, because nobody wants to see my random phase

  8. The entire point of blogging is writing something that you feel. Don’t fret about it. It doesn’t make you fake in anyway moreover, this post just shows how truly honest you are. I may be a stranger to you but you really have inspired me with this post. I hope you keep on writing and be yourself πŸ™‚

  9. I publish a post and instantly edit it or delete it all the time. Ok, that’s exaggerating, but I do more often than I want to. Don’t blame yourself at all.

What did you think?

