Weird Things About This Part of the Blogging World

I was going to do a “THINGS ONLY BLOGGERS UNDERSTAND!” post but I thought I might throw up if I did that, because I’d feel like I’m trying to cater to an audience, which is NOT how I roll.

Even THIS is making me question things. What’s a “part” of the blogging world?

Aren’t we all connected? Which part am I talking about? Teen bloggers, or just me, or just the people I know and what I’ve seen? THAT’s subjective, and there are plenty of teens I haven’t found yet – AHEM that sounds strange shh.

But just go with it. The “part” I’m talking about? Interpret that how you will. My head hurts and thinking about it too much makes me feel strange. After all, this is just MY take on things. And screw lists; let’s do paragraphs. I hate disorganisation oh my god

If you know the bloggers I know, you’ve seen the word blogosphere floating around. I use it, my friend L uses it, and so does a LOT of other people. But WHERE did it come from?

I used it a lot before, but I wasn’t the first. I have no idea who was, but if you think it’s you, WELL DONE because it’s a “common” word now. I’m not even sure who uses it; it just seems to be the word we use.

Also, everyone seems to know everyone else. Here, I’m just talking about the teens I know because I’m an exclusionist fuck, but here are some bloggers and I guarantee you’re going to (or you may, GOD I’m so superior-sounding) recognise them.

Luna, LyfWithEm, Ateenagediaryonline, Reine. See? There are just some common names floating around, that you know instantly. I’m talking GENERALLY here, not everyone. In award posts, I read them and often recognise the majority of names, and blogseaand it makes me wonder why.

This isn’t weird, it’s just lovely. When someone’s down, you can ALWAYS see an amazing comment from someone. We all come together to support this person, whoever they are. I LOVE that.

What other things have you noticed about the bit of the blogging world you’re in? Maybe it’s the same as mine, or maybe you’ve got an entirely different interpretation. It’s a crazy place, but it makes me happy.

HANG ON

IM 10 AWAY from 1000 STOP WHAT

Anyway, I’ll just crawl away now… Oh yeah, have you noticed that when someone makes a post flailing with happiness about the amount of followers they have, NO MATTER how many it is, people congratulate them? It’s amazing and how it should be. 10, 50, 100, 200, 500, 1000. Same amount of congratulations for each one.

From Elm πŸ™‚

64 thoughts on “Weird Things About This Part of the Blogging World

  1. I think it’s always really nice to have a place to come back to and talk — all the blogging people I know are generally super lovely. It’s cool to feel a part of a community. BASICALLY I AGREE WITH ALL THE THINGS YOU SAID. Yep. Woah, and congrats on being so close to 1k, that’s amazing! πŸ™‚

  2. Im just gonna live-tweet (i mean, comment) this as i read because it sounds promising
    -OMG I WOULD LOVE A THINGS ONLY BLOGGERS UNDERSTAND POST ESPECIALLY BY YOU PLEAAASE DO IT I BEG YOU
    -HAHAHAHAHAHAHA I literally am dying at the ‘i still havent found all the teens part’. Oh Elm.
    -Wait. SO L DIDNT INVENT THE WORD BLOGOSPHERE?!! I THOUGHT HE DID OMG
    -omg you’re so right it’s so weird we all recognize each other omfg
    -TRUE! I cant imagine your blog having 10 followers, its just impossible. You were created with like 382 in the bank, i just know it (btw im sure you know i dont mean it in the ‘you didnt work hard enough for your followers’ way but in the ‘your awesomeness makes it impossible for you to go through a beginner phase’ way, but i thought id make it clear for casual comment readers who might think im a bitch)
    Anyway, YAY YOU’RE NOW 9 AWAY!!! COMEON COMEON

    • THAT WAS BEAUTIFUL OMG and you are a bitch but YOU’RE NOT I’M JOKING
      ALSO NO I used the word at least 6 months – wait no, 4 months – before that lil fucker came along, EYYY!

      • OHHH THEN I guess he’s the one who invented Blogospherians. Maybe. I’m really afraid to ask at this point (but when you see him please do. Also tell him ‘Anthony says hey motherfucka’. You may paraphrase.)
        You may call me bitch as much as you like because maybe I am a little wee huge bit πŸ˜€

      • HMPH, he DID invent that one, URGH.
        He says, “Hello darling.” Legit talking to him on le telephone right now.
        Also you are a bitch. A total bitchosaurus, my friend.

  3. Blogging is great, and from what I can tell, everyone is always super supportive to one another. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a nasty comment on any post, which to be honest is quite a feat as on any other social media, people comment rude things all the time. Also congratulations on almost 1000! Your blog is really lovely so I’m not surprised! Xx

  4. This is all so true and I am so happy that you are getting so many followers as your blog posts are too amazing not to be read! Would you each like to do guest posts, I will feature a blog by you on mine and vice versa. I would love that especially as I love you blogs so much! X

  5. I think a big reason I started blogging is to connect with people who love what I love, which is writing. We’re all like a little community of people who support eachother and that’s really fucking cool. By the way congrats on having nearly 1,000 followers ☺

  6. Ha I’m not that well known, Elm πŸ˜› and I remember on my first post when people said ‘welcome to the blogosphere’ and I was like well okay then that’s a word now XD and we all knew the 1000 was coming πŸ˜‰

  7. It’s a very good point about the followers, and one that pretty much exemplifies the inherent supportiveness of this side of WordPress. I love it. It’s like a big hug, but in person form, or in this case, blog form. xx

  8. This is so true! I just joined the blogging community like a month ago, but everyone on here is so nice and supportive and loving. I love it!
    PS: CONGRATS ON ALMOST 1K I’M SO HAPPY FOR YOU! πŸ™‚

  9. Aw Elm thank you so much for putting me on that list! I honestly feel so honoured xD But you forgot to mention someone else… you πŸ™‚
    Ah, I agree with this. the community or rather this blogosphere (ha! ) is so so supportive of everyone and I think that’s what brings us closer together as a community. ALSO AHH YOURE ALMOST AT 1K I WANT TO SAY CONGRATULATIONS NOW SO I’LL BE THE FIRST!! ok calm down reine πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

What did you think?

