Exquisite Corpse – We Need Your Feedback!

Hi guys! I’ve got something really exciting planned – well, actually, Rina is the mastermind behind this. As a collaboration with other bloggers – hopefully, we’re going to play a (modified) version of a game called Exquisite Corpse, and we need your help.

If you don’t know what that is, it began as a game between poets: in the original, person 1 writes a line of poetry and folds the paper over so person 2 can’t read it. Person 2 then writes a line of poetry and folds the paper over so person 3 can’t read it, etc etc – and once it goes around the room or group, the first person reads the entire poem, which could end up being bloody awesome or really strange. You can read more about it here.

So, this is the rough idea of what we’re going to do, using my blog as the main platform. It’s still in the works, so if you have any ideas on how to improve it, let Rina and me know!

1. At the beginning of the week, on a Monday – next week, or whenever we decide to do this – I’ll post the start of this on my blog, and I write the first line of poetry, word, sentence or anything along those lines. It’s totally free in the blogging world, after all.

2. Somebody – let’s call them person 2 – reads the post, then writes a comment that would follow mine – so, the next line or sentence in the story.

3. This next bit is important: Person 3 will read person 2’s comment, but instead of ‘replying’, they’d leave a second comment afterwards to add to the creative piece, so it doesn’t get confusing. REMEMBER, don’t reply; leave a SEPARATE comment! Then, person 4 would do the same, and the piece evolves from there. Does that make sense?

4. Throughout the week, both Rina and I will link back to the post to get more people involved, and to hopefully make it grow more quickly.

5. We’ll end the piece on a Friday, which gives you a week, and at the weekend we’ll put everything together into one massive piece. Hopefully, it’ll be great, especially if loads of people get involved.

Now, here’s the thing. Is there an easier way to do this? Send us your feedback, and hopefully we can get this thing going! If this goes ahead, we’ll post instructions on our blogs next week.

Let us know if you’d like to get involved.

Credits go to Rina, who wrote the draft which this post is based on, and who came up with this amazing idea.

From Elm πŸ™‚

44 thoughts on “Exquisite Corpse – We Need Your Feedback!

  1. This is indeed a super cool idea. I will think of a way to make it better.Right now I am thinking email instead of comments to make it more fun and people will reply without them seeing what the previous person wrote but I don’t know if it is easier. I would just be fun to put the whole poem together and finding out at the same time what everyone says.(I hope I am making sense here.haha)

  2. Sounds fun! I think doing poetry may limit to those who will comment as they may not take a liking or comfort to writing it! Do a story theme as it makes it hilarious!

  3. Hey elm! I love this idea, and was wondering if I could use it in my blog? I couldn’t remember who it was that had done the exquisite corpse game but now I know. I would of course put credit to you and Rina xx

What did you think?

