You Don’t get Many People Like That

Today, something happened that shocked me (in a good way), though really, I shouldn’t have been surprised.

We have twenty minutes with our form group after lunch, but today I had to go to the VI unit (building for blind people) to talk to one of the staff members there. My form room is up a staircase, and because people were still in the corridors, it was quite busy.

I was standing there, at the bottom of the staircase – I could hear the crowd down the corridor, and see that it was quite busy (just some indistinct shapes of bodies). I panicked a little, hesitating.

At that point, this guy called my name. He’s absolutely lovely – he’s in my music class and always says hi, which is so rare because hardly anyone bothers. It took me a while to figure out that he WAS being genuinely nice, and that he wasn’t just talking to the blind kid, but rather me. His girlfriend was talking to Wren and I on Friday, and she told us that when they were walking together, he’d talk to random people on the street and check if they were okay.

Our conversation went like this:
“Hey Elm!”
“Oh heyy!”
“You want help going down the corridor? It’s quite busy.”
“Wha – are you sure?”
“Yeah. Here’s my arm.”

Again I asked if he was sure, and thanked him about a million times. He helped me through the crowds, letting me know when it was clear so that I could walk by myself, and saying bye. And I was just… Absolutely shocked. I walked the rest of the way, confused.

He actually HELPED me, which isn’t so shocking (or it shouldn’t be). I don’t really ever get offers from people to guide me if I look like I’m about to panic, either because I’m way too awkward or whatever. Also, he knew how to guide me, and was generally NICE about the whole thing. There wasn’t the usual “Um is this right, er…” It was fine.

That’s what surprised me. I’m not used to it – I’m not used to talking to people outside my group, having them actively bothering to help me. It made me so so happy because even if that’s ONE person who’s reached out to me, it shows me that people WILL help.

There are people in this world who are amazing, and kind, and I think I don’t appreciate them enough. They see me for who I am, and that’s so lovely.

People can seriously surprise you, sometimes, but in the best way possible. I wish I’d thanked him more, for his simple act of kindness that left me pondering who ELSE would do that for me. Not that it’s revolutionary, but still, I’m not USED to it.

Some people are just lovely. If you ever feel down, remember that there will be someone willing to talk to you – someone you don’t know very well – because they’re just THAT kind and considerate person. I have a feeling that a lot of you are that person to someone else.

From Elm πŸ™‚

73 thoughts on “You Don’t get Many People Like That

  1. Sometimes we forget how kind we could be until someone shows us again. Thanks for posting this story. I always try to help but sometimes I need a little reminder that I actually can make someone happy with my action.

  2. This is lovely, and yes, there are amazing people out there who genuinely want to help. Sometimes we need reminders of that. I’m so glad you had this experience! Take care, Jenny

  3. This is absolutely wonderful, Elm. It shouldn’t be shocking, you’re right but this was just so lovely. Yes, there are amazing people in this world.

  4. Aww that is so nice! It’s funny how these little things can surprise us. Just yesterday someone I didn’t even know held the door open for me and I spent the whole walk back thinking, ‘what just happened?’

  5. It’s nice that someone who hardly knew you offered to help! Sometimes I wish society would do this – help random strangers when they need it. πŸ˜‰

  6. Can I just admit for a moment that this made me tear up just a bit? I went through life for a very long time only seeing the people who hated me for my size, something I couldn’t change due to medication. I hated myself, because they hated me. It was the rare ones that seemed to shine a light through that made me remember it isn’t always ALL bad, there are good people in the world…sometimes you just have to dig for them a bit.

    Beautiful story, Elm. πŸ™‚ ❀

    • Thank you very much, and can I just say, you shouldn’t hate yourself for your size. It’s part of YOU, and every single human is beautiful and UNIQUE. Those people that mocked you and hated you didn’t realise that, didn’t think it, and the fact that they’d tease you about it shows that you’re so far apart from them – and in a good way.

  7. helping someone out could make their day and you wouldn’t know it – an awesome reason to help everyone whenever possible πŸ™‚

What did you think?

