Little Heart, Beating

I’ve got a little heart, beating,
It stops and starts in fitful bursts,
It asks me why I cry:
I have no answer.

I’ve got a little heart, beating
To the rhythm of my pain,
Waiting for me to crack
So it can heal me, again.
It’s a song to fill the silence.

I’ve got a little heart, beating,
Fear and questions and nothing in between,
Curled in a corner with my hands trapped
In tight, knotted fists,
Giving me strength I can’t ever wield
To combat my dreamless dreams.

I’ve got a little heart, beating,
Shattered and waiting and lonely;
Writing mistakes on papery skin:
Telling me I’ll be okay
Will I be okay?

I’ve got a little heart, beating,
Asking if I’m worth this, telling me
I should just stop, give up,
Asking where I’ll go if it falls apart.

I’ve got a little heart, beating,
Not for me, but for another,
Pushing down feelings so I can be okay.

I’ve got a little heart, beating,
Coming second, always second,
A little child, wondering why.

I’ve got a little heart, beating,
With a hope that won’t fade.

So, that’s a poem-type thing. I hope I can explain what’s going on, maybe in a few days. But I’ll be okay – I needed to get this out. It’s attention-seeking I know, and I’m sorry.

I need to focus on revising, and building up my emotions. I’ll be posting tomorrow because IT’s MY BLOGIVERSARY, but after that, you might not see me for a while. (I know I always say that and then end up blogging, but shhhh).

I hope you’re okay. I will be, soon.

Sorry for the ambiguity in this post. I need to sort things out, really.

Love from Elm πŸ™‚

36 thoughts on “Little Heart, Beating

  1. okay first of all how is your writing so asdkljeshevkarv (amazing) and secondly WUT a whole year that’s awesomeeee and thirdly stop saying everything you do is attention seeking and lastly hope you’re okay. yup πŸ™‚

    • First, THANK YOU SO MUCH πŸ™‚ Secondly AAAAHHH I know it’s insane. Thirdly – I know, it’s just my automatic response, where I think I’m looking for attention. I’m okay now πŸ™‚

  2. This is literally perfect.

    I’ve got a little heart, beating
    It’s happy and content,
    But reading this poem,
    made it feel lucky, happy and content.

    It was beautiful Elm.

  3. This poem was honestly so beautiful and you are honestly so talented. If you need someone to talk to I’ll always be there for you.. you’ve got my personal email so please don’t even hesitate if you need to talk. I hope your doing all good πŸ™‚

  4. Oh my goshh. This poem is so so so amazing. You’re so freaking talented like WOAH.
    And I hope that whatever you’re going through, It gets better. You’re amazing πŸ™‚

What did you think?

