I Never Told You How Much I Love Books

When I was 10, I met both Patrick Ness and Ruta Sepetys at the Carnegie Awards.

AND I WAS NOT ShRIEKING, like I would be now if I met them. I was ridiculously excited, but that was because they were famous and NOT because of the books they wrote. NOW, I’ve read one Patrick Ness book and plan to read more because I love his writing, and I’m about to read Salt to the Sea. I’m kicking myself because when I was 10, I wasn’t in the SLIGHTEST bit mature enough to appreciate the books they wrote and that irritates me to no end. ARGH!!!

I’ve never really mentioned how much I love books. I might have in passing, but I’m not a book blogger so it doesn’t come up much. I’m a horrific book reviewer – this amazing blogger asked me earlier what Illuminae – possibly one of my favourite books – was about, and I couldn’t articulate myself.

So, BOOKS. Let’s talk about ’em, and hopefully, in later posts, I’ll be talking about them MORE (I sense a new category being created).

My Favourite Books of All Time and a Terrible Explanation of Them

Lies We Tell Ourselves by Robin Talley
This is the only book that has EVER made me cry with happiness. There was this one scene where tears were running down my face, but it was so GOOD and AMAZING. The book is set in 1959 Virginia, and is about two girls: Sarah (who, along with a few others, is being integrated into a previously white-only school) and Linda (who’s father is a prominent segregationist). It explores racism and sexuality all at once, and is the BEST THING I HAVE EVER READ. Okay calm.

Only Ever Yours by Louise O’Neill
You have to read this book to really experience it, because anything I say regarding the plot will spoil it. It’s set in a futuristic world, where girls are kept in schools until the age of 16, after which they become one of three roles: Companions (wives), Concubines (prostitutes) and Chastities (teachers). I have never read anything that has terrified me so much, or made me THINK so much. The book follows Freida and Isabel, two girls who grow up in the Eurozone, and the scariest part about this book is that a lot of the girls are similar to people I know.

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
Oh my GOD, this book fascinated me. Written entirely in emails, instant message conversations and transcripts, it tells the story of an illegal mining colony being attacked by a huge corporation, with some of the population being rescued by the Alexander and Hypatia – two ships that were nearby to the attack. I have never been so drawn into a story as with this one, and possibly my favourite character is AIDAN (the psychotic insane loveable shipboard computer).

The Atlantis Grail Series by Vera Nazarian
Aaaaaaaaarghhhhh this series is (the third book’s coming out soon, don’t know when) bloody fantastic. It’s set in 2047, and an asteroid is on a collision course with Earth. Conveniently (that part is addressed in the book and questioned), spaceships from the ancient civilisation of Atlantis appear over Earth just in time to rescue 10 million teens in a process of Qualification, and the detail and process of it was explored SO MUCH that I more or less shrieked with happiness. The main character of the story is Gwen Lark, who is so far from perfect that I LOVE her: she’s just an ordinary teen with no special powers apart from her intelligence and she’s portrayed VERY realistically. The world building of Atlantis, their culture and technology was the best thing I have come across in terms of getting a real idea of the society.

SO, THOSE are the kind of books I’m into, as well as more thought-provoking books, fantasy, sci-fi, etc. I NEED to talk about books more, because I follow so many book bloggers it’s ridiculous, and I find so many amazing books from them.

What are some of your favourite books?

From Elm πŸ™‚

59 thoughts on “I Never Told You How Much I Love Books

      • I tried to read that a while ago but the format of emails and stuff just wasn’t my thing, I couldn’t finish it but I think the story idea was really cool!

      • Honestly idk, at the moment I’m really going off reading which isn’t something I’m happy with but I did try to make an effort to get back into it but urghhh.. I am trying though πŸ™‚ the most recent book I read was All the Bright Places and it was GREAT

  1. Those books are now into my TBR list. I’ve been meaning to read Ness’s books for a while now but there are so many books to read and I haven’t gotten around to it yet.

  2. I tend to lean more towards the fantasy sides of books. I love mystery, adventure, action and fantasy/high fantasy. I guess I prefer reading things away from reality.

  3. Oh my gosh I met Patrick Ness a few months ago and loved it! I had to drive five hours to get to his signing, but it was still worth it! Which book have you read by him? My favorites are More Than This and A Monster Calls. πŸ™‚

    This post makes me want to read Illuminae soooo bad! I’m usually not much of a fantasy/sci-fi person, but the synopsis sounds super interesting and SO MANY PEOPLE have been telling me to read it.

    As for my favorite books? Hmmm. I do have a book blog so I probably already talk about these way too much, but I’d have to say Looking For Alaska, A Monster Calls, Tiger Lily, The Perks of Being a Wallflower, All the Bright Places, and We Were Liars.

    Sorry- that was a super long list. But I’m a book blogger- what can you expect. XD

    • It was a FANTASTIC list! πŸ™‚ Ahh, I read The Rest of Us Just Live Here. I NEED to read A Monster Calls!!!! And YES. READ ILLUMINAE.

  4. Woah Ruta Sepetys, I love her books! I just read Salt to the Sea and it was just as fabulous as her others. I love Patrick Ness, too, but he seems to do a lot of events near me so I’ve seen him talk twice. (He’s super cool as well as being a great writer. In my opinion haha.) I ADORE LIES WE TELL OURSELVES EEK. I was SO happy to see it on the Carnegie Medal shortlist this year. I JUST LOVE IT A LOT. I recently read Illuminae and thought it was fabulous too!

  5. I’ve also really got into Patrick Ness! I’ve read the rest of us just live here and I also want to read more, which book of his did you read?

What did you think?

