Screw the Hiatus for a Sec

Yeah, fuck the hiatus, this is important. I’m going to regret this post in the morning but whatever.

I’ll say it plainly. Rapunzel and I broke up – if you don’t know who she is, read my post called Happiness without a Catch (can’t be pissed to link it because rebel).

I need to first say that she was so damn lovely about it. She was on the phone with me and said it in the nicest way possible – you KNOW someone knows you well when they tell you not to blame yourself for anything, and then SUCCEED in not making me think I’m a shit person. That takes skills πŸ˜€

I’m not sure why I put that last bit. Also Rapunzel if you’re reading this, don’t read this paragraph because it might make you feel shit, and I couldn’t ever want that. But I will be honest with you guys; I feel absolutely shit but that’s unavoidable. My eyes are VERY painful but you know what? It’s okay, because in all the break-up scenarios that could have happened, that was the best.

This was the kindest. I’m honestly happy that she told me, in the way she did. I know that she’s still going to be there for me and I for her; stuff won’t change that. We still feel the same about each other and that’s okay, because we’ll both be okay.

I won’t go into details about my feelings right now because they’re fresh and raw and painful, and I don’t want this post to be overly negative. Also, I don’t want to guilt-trip her by accident; she’s so fabulous and has such a kind heart it astounds me. She’s also sensible as fuck.

I don’t hate her. I’m not happy, but I could never be angry. Yes, I feel a little like everything’s just exploded in fire and blood and anguish, but I’m SO much more calm than I thought. I’d be.

All in all? I will be okay. I won’t let this affect my exams, but I’ll be able to deal with the pain in my own way. I hope you guys are doing amazingly.

I thought I’d tell you because you deserve to know. You’ve all watched me through the various stages of my love life, my breakdowns and shrieking moments, so it’s only natural that I tell you; plus, I NEEDED to post about it. I have other things to tell you, but that can wait until the half term, or until the exams are over.

I’ll grow from this, and maybe now it feels awful, but at some point it’ll feel okay. I’ll be able to cope and I’ll be fine, truly fine, and I’m going to hold onto that hope.

Love from Elm πŸ™‚

64 thoughts on “Screw the Hiatus for a Sec

  1. I love how even though you feel awful you said, “I won’t let this affect my exams, but I’ll be able to deal with the pain in my own way.” That is real fighter talk. That is how I can tell that you are a very strong person. As well as inspiring and plain out freaking awesome.

  2. (((Hugs))) Elm, break ups are never easy, but I’m glad you had a nice one, if you know what I mean.
    You are indeed a strong person, and you will get through this as well as your exams, stay strong sweety xxx

  3. Had a breakup recently myself. It sucks. I just don’t get why things couldn’t have gone as smoothly as they did with you. I feel as though just because I did the breaking, I’m the criminal.

    • In no way are you the criminal. It will seem horrible, and painful, but know that you aren’t WRONG for doing it. I don’t know the circumstances, but I doubt that it’s your fault. Don’t blame yourself

  4. Oh, I see you’ve marked it as teen. Hah. I’m 29 so a bit past that. πŸ˜› I guess love doesn’t magically get easier when you get older, eh.

  5. Hey Elm!

    You’re so brave for uploading this… Right now I am not sure whether I should be happy or sad for you, but if you want to talk about this you can!

    You’re such an awesome person for not taking this against yourself, and props to Rapunzel for treating it the way she did.

    Keep working hard with your studies, even though you are hurting it’ll be okay in the end, I swear!

    I love you in the least creepy way possible,
    James.

    • And I love you in the least creepy way possible, too. Thank you so much; you’re such a supportive friend. I’m just trying to stay strong and you’re helping.

  6. You’re so brave for posting this! It’s not easy to talk about your personally life and on top of that have the person you’re talking about read it. I command you for this, whatever releases stress

  7. I am so sorry that this happened to you, and you’re so strong in how you’re persisting and continuing with life.
    Good luck with your exams! You’re gonna slay ’em~ Love you~
    Wishing you the best,
    MimiTa

  8. I’m so sorry about that Elm. Everything will be fine and okay and wow! Rapunzel is really nice. Just know that you’re going to move on with this and if you want to talk, we’re here for you!

  9. I am sorry that things didn’t work out with you and Rapunzel. You are probably the strongest person you know and are going to get through this! Keep your chin up, get through your exams and then just relax and enjoy your summer holiday!

  10. Oh Elm… I’m really sorry and I won’t say anything else because I’ll screw it up (I is very awkward).
    But you’re quite possibly the strongest person I know, and you can get through this, okay? We’re all here for you :). ❀ Hanna

  11. *hugs* Aah I’m super sorry, but although it probably doesn’t feel great now YOU WILL GET THROUGH THIS. ❀
    I mean, I'm not gonna claim we have exactly the same experiences, but recently I broke up from a sorta relationship, and basically it was because we lived way too far away. And it felt like it kind of sucked because that wasn't something I could control? But yeah. *nods*

  12. I’m so proud of you for dealing with this so well and remaining so strong! I broke up with my boyfriend about a month ago (gosh that is a long time ago, now that I think about it) and he did not take it well. It probably didn’t help that I told him over text, but he was away in America for two weeks and doesn’t have a phone so yeah. Anyway, he didn’t deal with it very well. Like at all. As in, it was horrible and not good as he is depressed. And ever since he has been a complete… well, you get the idea. Not very nice. And all because he blamed me. Basically, what I’m trying to say is well done for being strong, realising that it is nobody’s fault and deciding to go on with your life. Also, exams are horrible! Good luck.

  13. Elm, I know that I haven’t been keeping up with your blog nearly as much as I’d like to, so I don’t know everything that’s happened. But I do know that someone who takes the time and energy to make you realize that they’re breaking up with you but not because you’re a bad person really does care about you, just not in that way. You are so strong. You can and will get through this. Hugs and good luck with exams! πŸ™‚
    -Amy

  14. So sorry for you Elm,
    You’ll get through it, and even though it feels so painful now, the pain eases and you might even found that you are better off now than you were.
    Don’t work yourself too hard with revision though because the upset you feel now will be so bad if you don’t get enough rest.
    Good luck with your exams =)

  15. I’m sorry for all that’s happened, from your posts Rapunzel seems like a really great person. I’m actually really glad that you both have handled this so maturely. It’s really important to understand one another and each others feelings and it seems that you both have come to terms with everything. And yes, it’s human nature to be upset. And you definitely will be upset. I just hope that through this all, you emerge a stronger, better person.
    I wish you all the strength to get through this πŸ™‚

What did you think?

