APPARENTLY I’m Responsible?!

So I might have landed myself something that might be considered a “job”. Yeah, I don’t know what the hell happened either.

Today, we had a street party. In our street, there are TONS of little kids – and though they’re cute, they run out and cause mayhem, and there’s no one my age apart from a boy in year 10 called Curtis who didn’t even come out of the house (or maybe he’d gone to see his friends or something).

I REALLY didn’t want to be bored. It was boiling for the first part of it, and I was terrified I’d just be standing outside with no one to talk to but my dad. Yesterday, I asked Rose (a really close family friend my age) if she wanted to come, and she said yes. Along with her father, she turned up an hour late because her dad was doing gardening: she’t texted me, but me being a rebel, I left my phone inside because I wanted to have the freedom of not being connected to technology.

Rose, her sister Poppy and I are close in the sense that sisters are close. We’re so comfortable around each other – we might not be able to talk about EVERYTHING, like there’s a lot we don’t know about one another, but I love them. Not that I’d say that to them because we hate getting sentimental with each other. I hung out with Rose all day outside, and we chatted to loads of people in my street – most of which I didn’t actually know.

One of the people was this lovely woman – I think she might have been American? She has a 7-year-old boy and asked me if I was interested in babysitting (I told her I’d never thought about it but that my sister had done it before for other people in the street). After that, I didn’t pay much mind to it because I’m ME AND I’d feel sorry for the kid I had to babysit. Plus the being blind thing made me nervous that I’d fuck up, when it shouldn’t have.

For the rest of the time, Rose and I sat round a table – it was alternately sunny, windy then overcast – just talking about books, life and everything. Though I was sad that Poppy couldn’t come, it was lovely to talk to Rose one-on-one. She and I are so comfortable with each other that it was normal to stand with our arms around each other and be really close physically. Also, we talked about so-called “awkward” topics like sex, which I’d never spoken to her about before and it was so so strange but amazing. She has the same book taste as me, and she’s about the only friend from real life that DOES and we were screaming about the books we loved. (Convinced her to read The 5th Wave which made my life)

We cringed so much at the kid’s games that were going on – you know, the ones you get in Sports Day in primary school – three-legged race and that. The worst part was that our dads took part in a few and I was just sat there crying with laughter while an 8-year-old girl screamed into the microphone about the next race (they also somehow broke the mic and my dad had to fix it). It was literally amazing and so so bloody tiring because Rose’s dog kept going mental because I think he’s in love with my dad or something.

I’m getting off-topic. The babysitting thing came up again right at the end, where I mentioned it to my dad. Rose’s dad and him then suggested, “Hey Elm! Why don’t you three do it?” Rose, Poppy and I go volunteering at a run usually, and so we work as a team. We leapt on the idea (even though I was like “WHAAAAATTTT but children!”) and went to find the lady to tell her.

So yeah. I somehow have a tentitive job – the first EVER in my life. Literally EVER. What the hell is this?!

I can’t believe she thought me responsible enough to look after children. There are so many kids that are young in our road that we could never run out of people to look after. It’s honestly flattering that though she didn’t know me very well, she offered a “job” to me (and my friends because she was delighted when we said we’d all be doing it). I’m glad I get to hang out with the two girls more, too.

It’s strange. I know it’s not much, but both Rose and I really want something to do over the summer. I love the two of them and so being with them in someone else’s house, whilst we have to look after my neighbour’s children, should be fun. I’m worried I’ll screw it up, but I just want to give it a go.

Aaaahhh I’m being responsible! ME! ELM! At least I’m doing something though; that counts for a lot because I’m helping people out in my street and I want to show them and myself that I can be trusted.

Everyone does babysitting but it’s a big leap for me because no independence and also jobs and that are a huge worry for me, always have been.

Today was a really good day. I loved hanging out with Rose and just smiling, surrounded by music, little kids shrieking and the smells of barbeques.

From Elm πŸ™‚

46 thoughts on “APPARENTLY I’m Responsible?!

  1. Oh my god, I have a similar story!! I don’t consider myself responsible and my auntie thinks I am so she always wants me to babysit my 5 year old cousin hehe!! XD XD Like, who? Me? Nah!
    I’m pretty sure you’re more responsible than me!! XD

    • I really, really hope they will! Thank you so much for having faith in me πŸ™‚ I often get scared I’ll totally mess it up. Let’s hope I won’t! Thanks again

  2. It is actually so awesome that you and your sisters are so… okay telling each other things! Like I use my siblings for entertainment but I don’t get them to help me or I don’t like to get either sensitive or sentimental towards them very much but yeah like you said I have no clue why, I do love them I just find it… awkward in a way?

    Congratulations on your job though, haha… One tip though, don’t let them get snacks if they’re unsupervised… Bad idea…

    • That’s exactly right! πŸ™‚ I wish Rose and Poppy and I were actually related because that would be awesome.
      Ahhh little children are so cute! Yeah, they’d just eat constantly haha.

  3. Congratulations! Being given this responsibility must feel great! Hope you have a great time babysitting πŸ™‚

  4. You’re going to do amazing! I’m genuinely so so so proud of you, because it’s a huge step in confidence, independence and self-believe, but nevertheless a step which I’m positive you are ready to make X

  5. I’m a tiny person, so people automatically assume I am incapable of babysitting kids who are almost as tall (if not as tall) as me. So when I (finally) get offered a job, I’m over the moon! Although you’re probably WAYY more responsible than me xx Phia

  6. Oh you’re gonna be THE BEST babysitter around. Really, I’m so proud of you, this is a big step for you. Honestly, I could never take up babysitting- I’m just terrified that I might break the kid my dropping it down the steps.

What did you think?

