Vote

It’s the EU Referendum today (if you didn’t know where have you been?), and if you haven’t already, PLEASE VOTE.

Vote if you can. You’re on the register, so why not? Vote for YOUR future.

You might not think that your vote counts, but EVERY SINGLE VOTE COUNTS. You’ve got until 10, so VOTE. I am begging you, even if you think it’s not worth it and you couldn’t give a shit anyway, vote.

If I could, I would. I’m 16, and so I’m not legible to write “remain” on a piece of paper. I can’t count myself toward determining even the smallest part of MY – OUR – future. Even though it’ll affect our generation FAR more than the politicians campaigning, I can’t vote and it upsets me. I want to have a say. I want to be able to have the tiniest bit of control.

It’s nearly 5, but it’s not too late. You’re still able to, and if you have, well done. If you haven’t – why haven’t you? It’s understandable if you CAN’T – you’re too young, or you’re not on the register because you come from a country that can’t take part – but if you are, what’s stopping you?

Please. You might not think it impacts you, but it does. If you won’t do it for yourself, do it for me, for us, for the ones who can’t vote. I can’t tell you what to vote for, because that’s not what I’m here for. If you know me, you KNOW I’d vote remain.

It’s you. If you think we’re better off out, vote out. If you think we’re better off in, vote in. For God’s sake, NOW’s your chance to have your word. If you ever felt like no one listened to you, do this now to prove to yourself that you have power – maybe not much, but you still do.

I can’t convince you to do it. Two years ago, I didn’t even register that politics was important. Now, I don’t want to ever be a politician, but I want and need to stand up and say that the younger generation DO care.

It starts with us, because we’re the ones that are going to live with this decision. It’s relevant. It’s important. It’s REAL and if you haven’t realised that yet, go to your Polling Station and make sure you do something.

I hope that I’ll wake up tomorrow and not immediately be terrified if I find out what the result is. That’s just me. If we leave, remain supporters will be scared. If we stay, leave supporters will be scared. It’s how it works.

This post may seem pointless, but I want to write it.

So, for your sake and for everyone’s, go out there and VOTE.

You still have time.

From Elm πŸ™‚

40 thoughts on “Vote

  1. Yes! People should vote because to be honest it determines our futures not the adults who can vote! I’d vote remain too if I could!

  2. Awesome post! So much better than mine, haha! The thing is, I don’t even see why leave supporters will be scared tomorrow morning if we remain because will anything even change? If we vote leave however, 7AM tomorrow I’m going to be bloody terrified for my future and the future of everyone else. I’ll also hate David Cameron more than I already do, which is going to be hard. What will happen to UKIP? Their only policy and goal as a party is to leave the EU, if that happens what’s their future look like?

    • Haa that’s true! Ugh god I don’t even know how bad I’m going to feel if we leave. And ugh I dislike David Cameron a LOT! 😦 To be fair the only party I like is Labour. Oh yeah, and the Green Party.

      • I think I might actually cry, like have a proper breakdown but I don’t really know why because no one properly knows what the consequences are going to be… Yep, and Nigel Farage and Boris Johnson! Yep, Labour and Green Party! Unfortunately the Green Party will never be successful enough to be in Government… 😦

      • You are officially my favourite person ever right now!!!! He’s so great isn’t he?!
        The polls have closed eek crap I’m scared

      • Haha! Thank you, that’s so sweet! ❀ He is very great, although people seem to be saying that he might resign… 😦 I can't believe the results!! What have we DONE! Or what have the older generation done, 75% of 18-24 year-olds that voted, voted for remain. I think if 16-17 year-olds had been allowed to vote we would still be in the EU. I don't know if it's good or bad that Cameron has resigned… :/

  3. One of the factors that decides whether a country is democratic or not is the freedom to exercise our freedom, and whatever our judgement we should use the power given to us and vote. Otherwise we’d all be a hypocrite if we refuse to vote and run around complaining about issue xyz. By voting we are having a say, an input towards change (hopefully in the right direction).

    • Yes exactly! People who don’t vote (and COULD if they wanted to) shouldn’t complain though!
      The polls have closed I’m so scared right now

      • Don’t be. People have expressed how they disagree with some fundamental rules of the EU. For example, hopefully soon Britain will not be able to allow dangerous criminals to walk around free owing to human rights. And possibly other relations could be preserved. Britain is a strong country, this doesn’t have to be the end! Don’t be scared, smile! In a two years or so you will be able to vote meaning having an input towards our future. Change is scary but you are brave x

      • I hope the previous comment makes the outcome of today slightly less daunting; we have to look on the positive side whilst we over come the difficulties.

  4. I agree wholeheartedly with what you have just said. I feel just as strongly as you do about this. I’m a remain supporter but I’m also too young. And I am terrified for my future it is driving me mad. People need to start shifting their arses if the need to vote.

    • YES exactly! Ahh I know how you feel and the polls have just closed and it’s terrifying
      I’m so sorry – your comment didn’t show up because you haven’t commented before so I had to manually approve it 😦

  5. I’M SO SCARED NOW I DON’T KNOW WHAT WE’RE GOING TO DO AND I HAVE A MATHS EXAM IN AN HOUR AND I’M HONESTLY SO STRESSED ABOUT THIS AHSVKABS

    • I’M TERRIFIED I DON’T KNOW WHAT TO DOO! But Lora don’t stress about the exam, just DO IT, get home and stress about the EU or lack of it now

      • Yeahhh I sort of managed haha but sERIOUSLY I’m going to Spain tomorrow and now my money in worth nOthing and idk what I’m going to do

      • Arghhh 😦 Try and have fun in Spain and don’t stress about it too much. I’ll be the same in Italy next month

  6. It’s just that people think that why should they chose one when both of them are rotten. I personally am of voting age now, and I wish to vote staring this year. This was well written. Take care. πŸ™‚

What did you think?

