Guest Post – Judging a Book by its Cover

Hey guys! This is Aditi, and I’m so happy to be posting on Elm’s blog. I came here once before, with a post called Recollection Road. I hope you enjoy this!

Elizabeth’s Bookshops in Australia, have a very interesting idea for book purchasing. Coined “Blind Date with a Book”, buyers search for a book that solely have four or five words on the paper cover that describe what is inside. In this way, it is impossible to “judge a book by its cover”.

What do you think about this? I have two takes on it.

Side 1: I think this idea inhibits the creativity that goes into creating a book cover.

It is inevitable that we judge books by their covers. It is impossible to summarize an entire novel into a few words. I’m sure you have heard the idiom: “A picture is worth a thousand words”. This is the notion that a situation conveyed with an image shows its meaning more effectively than a description does. It is more difficult to understand the essence of a book without a picture displaying it. It would be much easier to have a cover to visualize the book you are about to read.

Side 2: This idea is very beneficial, and prohibits any judging of covers.

Conversely, this could really work! Sometimes, books might not have any “substance”, but they have a dashing, yet misleading cover. Authors obviously don’t come right out and tell you about the book, unless it’s in the blurb on the back. If you’re very specific with your choices on what types of books you read, this could really help. Especially since the books are specifically chosen by people who have read the book before, there is a good chance you will enjoy it.

Which take do you follow, and what would you add them?

My Ideal Book: The book that I would want to read best would probably have these words on it.

  1. Revolution
  2. Teenagers
  3. Humorous
  4. Fantasy

This basically describes the entire Y.A. genre! I know I have read a lot of books like this already, but, if it’s really good, I will truly enjoy it.

What would be your ideal 4-5 words for a book?

Using This Strategy: This could also be used for music, games or movies. Blind dates with PEOPLE could also follow this format. What do you think about this?

<<>><<>><<>>

I hope you enjoyed that! If you want to, you can comment the side you would take (or if there is ANOTHER side) as well as the answers to some of the questions you posted and I could do a follow-up post showcasing some of your comments and my additional takes on this!

I’d also love if you could check out my blog here. I write about several things, but I have narrowed it down to “PET” (Poems, Education (yet interesting), and Thoughts). 🙂

Love,
Aditi

11 thoughts on “Guest Post – Judging a Book by its Cover

    • That’s wonderful!! I can definitely imagine myself curling up to read a cozy mystery. I think you’ve convinced me to read one tonight. 😉 Do you recommend any books?

      Love,
      Aditi

  1. Awww Awesome work Aditi!

    I actually love these… Guest posts are awesome, but this one was spot on, perfection, chuck it on the plate, go to the back of the line for seconds.

  2. This is a really good point! I’ve heard of Blind Date With a Book before and have actually been meaning to get one…. My library actually did something like this! They called it Blind Date With a Book, wrapped up the books in colored paper, and wrote a few words about it on the outside. Such an interesting idea, but I got a book I had already read the first time!
    -Amy

What did you think?

