I MET A BLOGGER!

It’s so boiling outside that I can barely concentrate, but here goes.

Today, I met a blogger for the first time ever and I’m still smiling about it. Along with one of my best friends ever, L, we met the fabulous Fibit.

L and Fibit had already met several times (yes, I was jealous because he met a blogger before me but shhh), because they live relatively close to each other. We’d been planning this for a while, but I didn’t mention anything just in case, and I wanted to be sort of spontaneous. Yesterday I came round to L’s house, stayed over (which involved running from bees, lots of yelling, and a trip down to the shops that could have ended in disaster). This morning, we got up ridiculously early, after L changed plans about how we were going to get there about three times, and went to the train station because we’re just that fabulous. He and I were both nervous that I’d get lost somewhere along the way, but luckily I turned up in one piece.

If you know me, you’ll know that I get nervous over the stupidest things. Whilst on the train – between nearly falling over and shrieking – I was doing my crazy-villain-rubbing-my hands-together thing, and muttering “Ohmygod I’m a trainwreck!”. Yeah, I wouldn’t want to be associated with me either. I didn’t think he was a kidnapper or anything, but come on, it was my first ever time meeting a blogger! Like EVER! It’s a big thing, and as we got off the train I had to stop and breathe, just to let it sink in.

I think the most hilarious part of the day was our ‘guiding chain’. In case you didn’t know, L and I are both blind (Fibit isn’t), and so we walked down the street in a line, with L or I crashing into things several times. Because I’m short, I had to hold onto L’s shoulders at one point which almost made me have to stand on tiptoes.

After we met up, we went to some coffee shop, and because I’m boring I didn’t get coffee (what, it’s gross!). Seriously, throughout the day I kept on having this realisation that THREE BLOGGERS were wandering round town, two of them blind, with pretty much no idea where we were going. It was trΓ©s fabulaux.

We went and sat on a bench as well, in some random shopping centre, and just chatted. In real life, L and I bicker constantly, and on several occasions I jokingly snapped at both of them, “Well y’know what, I hate you too!” I also laugh a lot. Honestly, I’m SUCH a rebel that it makes me cringe every time. Why did they put up with me?

Like the teenagers we are, there was an obligatory selfie in another coffee shop. I probably looked like a turtle or something, but I have it saved on my phone to actually prove to myself that I was there. Even though I can’t see the picture. Shhh! The group hug outside the station made me feel all sentimental, but I probably came off as a right weirdo, knowing me.

All in all, my first experience of meeting a blogger was so surreal. I’m very glad that L was with me, too, because I would have been too nervous to go by myself because I’m a bloody whimp.

After we got back to L’s, we went for Afternoon Tea which was about the poshest thing I’ve ever done. I mean, I’m posh enough as it is, but eating scones, tiny sandwiches and eclairs in the shade outside… I’ve out-poshed myself. It turns out that I actually like meringues, which was a shocker. I called the waiter ‘sir’, lost my napkin, and burst out laughing on more than one occasion. Clearly, I don’t fit in at a posh establishment at all. Seriously though, it was great; the food was lovely and the tea was amazing. As well as that, the adjective that comes to mind is picturesque, because the place seemed as if it came straight out of a story.

Us three bloggers already have plans to meet up after Results’ Day (I’ll be crying over my results of course) and we’ve nicknamed ourselves the “Real Life Blog Squad”. Well, somebody did; it was probably me and the name won’t catch on, but I can at least try!

BLOODY HELL, the Elm met an actual blogger. I’m so happy, because I actually did this, and it didn’t go wrong! Wooo!

I know that I’m terrible at keeping my anonymity, but today was so so worth it. I felt like Elm, mixed with my real name identity, and it was weird but very nice. Right now, it seems like blogging’s not just a thing of the internet, but something that CAN cross over into real life.

By the way, I’m sorry for not blogging in ages. I hope you guys are doing well.

From Elm πŸ™‚

87 thoughts on “I MET A BLOGGER!

  1. OHMAGOSH WHAT!?!??!?!
    THIS. IS AMAZING. WOWOWOW.
    Oops…soz for freaking out πŸ˜‚
    YOU BOTH MET A BLOGGER WOW THIS IS SO COOL AND I’M SO GLAD YA’LL HAD FUN YAYAYAY

  2. AHHHHHH THIS IS SO COOL OH MY GOD IT’S ALWAYS BEEN MY DREAM TO MEET A BLOGGER AND THAT’S SO COOL AHHHHH!!! Wait, why am I freaking out, when it was YOU who met a blogger?!
    That is actually the coolest thing ever. Excuse my repetitive use of the word “cool”, but this is actually pretty cool. You know what else is cool? Unicorns. And it’s also cool that you had a good time. I hope you can stay cool as you said it is boiling. Puns are cool. I’ll shut up now. I rambled… “oy Elm hates me now”…

    • I COULD NEVER HATE YOU CAUSE YOU’RE FAB!!!! Unicorns are great, yes πŸ™‚ And YES I’M FREAKING OUT TOO BECAUSE I MET THE FIBIT!!! WHAAAATTT EVEN

  3. this is so cool! so many of you are in england i’m so jealous. i know maybe one american blogger but it’s not like i can just hop on a plane and hang out with them that day because america is so large. but the image of the three of you walking down the road together almost brought me to tears it sounded so funny, i wish i could’ve seen it!

  4. It’s alright saying we all live close together but my parents would probably never let me meet up with someone I met online, even if they lived 10 minutes away

  5. That is so cool that you met a blogger. You know what is weird is that two people can be walking down the street, both bloggers that know each other but them don’t know who each other are. I wonder if that ever happened before. Anyways that is so so so so amazing. !!!! πŸ™‚

    • I’m SO SO happy! And yeah, I always wonder that! I was on a train yesterday with L and we had that conversation, asking ourselves if someone was on the train with us that we knew from the blogosphere.

      • It is strange because even if it happened we never realized it! Or what if two class mates were friends in the blogosphere but didn’t even realize they were in the same class. It is fun to think about it!

  6. OMG IM MEETING FIB FIB TOOOOOO!!!!!! THIS IS AWESOME. I even persuaded my parents to let me go pretending he’s a school friend. so it’s ACTUALLY happening

  7. Sounds great fun! Glad you enjoyed it. I’d love to meet a fellow blogger sometime.
    Great post by the way!

  8. That sounds amazing, you must have had so much fun!!!!! πŸ˜„ I wish I could meet other bloggers… *sigh* someday I will. πŸ˜„ I’m so glad you three had fun together, you’re so lucky!!! πŸ˜„

What did you think?

