I Can’t Speak Italian

Hii guys! I’m not actually sure when I’m going to be able to post this, but currently it’s the night of the 30th – so the second full day in Italy, and I love it so far.

Turns out, there isn’t good wifi here. Well I mean there IS – you have to buy it – but at the moment, I don’t have it and the only access I’ve had to les internets is 5 minutes using Robin’s data, but to be honest I’m at the stage where I don’t need it. Getting 10 hours of it costs you 10 euros, which is an insanely good deal considering what it’s been like the previous years. Okay, I won’t bore you with that.

Italy is really lovely. It’s boiling – yesterday and today, it was about 30 degrees where we’re staying. At times it’s just way too hot, but it’s rather nice and a break from rainy England. You walk outside and the heat hits you, and it’s got to the point where the air conditioning, inside, feels much too cold.

We’re staying in this awesome caravan, like we did when we went to France. Robin and I share a room, with her brother and his friend sharing the one next door. There’s a kitchen, a living room in the same room, a room with a double bed and then a nice seating area outside. Also, the place itself is picturesque, with lots of trees (which I’m happy about) and shade, which is broken by patches of sunlight along the pathways.

On Thursday, we arrived (getting to the airport and boarding the flight was VERY stressful, but that’s because I was paranoid). After we landed, we stepped outside the plane and I just had this thought that now, I was on Italian soil and it was exhilarating; I went a bit hyper.

Shopping for food was actually less frustrating than I expected. Going round a supermarket with Robin and her family, choosing what we wanted to eat, felt a shitload more freeing than just having it done for us. Plus, Italian food is great. Once we’d done all of that, and arrived at the sort of campsite where we’re staying, we didn’t do much. Just relaxed, and chatted as we usually do.

On the first day – so yesterday – Robin and I explored. By that I basically mean she walked around whilst guiding me, and we had a look at all the different things there were. In previous years, it’s just been rather simple with a bar and caravans, but here it’s organised in neat rows and it’s almost like a little town. You have the bar, the pool (in fact there are about four pools which is brilliant) and all of the caravans are different, owned by different companies, and there are even some chalets and tents scattered about.

Exploring involved over 2 hours of catching up, where I told her everything that’s happened over the last 6 months. There was a lot to tell, but luckily she wasn’t bored as I basically regaled her with how my life has been. She was unbelievably supportive and not judgemental, as she always is, but that shouldn’t surprise me. Because she goes to a boarding college, there’s not much she HASN’T seen or heard, and in the hours of catching up, she told me many stories that had me laughing insanely.

Last night, we went out for dinner. We’d gone shopping beforehand, but because I’m boring, I didn’t buy anything. Oh, and Italian pasta is gorgeous. It’s been my personal goal to try eating pasta in Italy, and finally that’s achieved! I regret nothing.

Today, we just went swimming. Both days, we woke up late – at about 9:30 – which felt really great because I was calm and not stressed. Robin got bitten by mosquitos, and because she’s allergic, they swelled up and are now the size of bloody golf balls. I feel so sorry for her honestly, but she went to the doctor this evening and has some prescription drugs, so she’s okay.

As I said, we went swimming (in the pool, not the sea, because fuck beaches). For the first time ever, I wore my bikini – after dousing myself in suncream – and god, I’ve never felt so… Confident. I thought I’d be a mess, constantly questioning how I look, but because Robin was there I was fine. She said this, which stuck in my mind: “I started putting bikinis on because though I felt insecure, I just thought fuck it! Why not?” I went by that philosophy, and it worked, because I could lie on a towel and sunbathe without asking myself if I looked disgusting. If you ever feel nervous about putting something on, like an item of clothing, just remember that it’s YOUR body and that you do have the confidence to feel comfortable.

It’s about 8.30 now, and I’m writing this just outside the bar. There’s music playing on a stage a way to my right, people talking and the busy sounds of chatter to my left, and Robin sitting next to me. I feel really peaceful, and this is the first time I’ve written a post outside, which is so liberating. The air is warm around me, with people walking behind my chair and kids shrieking. I’ll definitely be repeating the experience someday.

Tomorrow, we’re just going to do nothing – relax as per usual. Robin still hasn’t caught me up on all of her stories, and I’ll hopefully have wifi tomorrow so that I can actually post this. Recently – when I had my 5 minutes of wifi – I checked WordPress and saw some truly lovely comments that made me smile. I’ll reply to those as soon as possible, but I’d like to thank you all from the bottom of my heart. I DO mean that: I can’t read blogs at the moment, and won’t be able to for a long time, so I can’t return the favour on new blogs I find.

If you ARE a new blogger and just want someone to chat to, I’m here. I thought I’d say that now, because now’s a good enough time as any.

Also, I’ve decided that I won’t be trying to “get with” someone. I did a lot of thinking, and realised I’m in no emotional state to do that. My “legendary paranoia” puts me in the position where I’m finding it difficult to trust myself, almost? I’d love to just have something small, meaningless, to let myself be free, and the more I think about it, the more appealing it comes. However, it would feel like a betrayal and I’m not sure to whom. My mind is on other things, and so it wouldn’t be fair to the person at all if I did. It might not make sense, but I’m just trying to make myself happy.

I adore Italy. Because there are not many English families around, you can hear a blend of different languages: Dutch, German, even some French and obviously, Italian. The latter’s such a beautiful language, and I love hearing it. In the coming days, I hope that I can post more, but I sometimes just need time away from everything. A break. I can’t and won’t feel guilty about it, and you know I haven’t forgotten about you all.

I hope that you’re doing great. If you’re on holiday, have a fab time!

From Elm πŸ™‚

65 thoughts on “I Can’t Speak Italian

  1. ^ same w/ me 😦 I’d love to be back in Italy and walking around the awesome streets over sitting in mundane classrooms and dealing with change.
    YES ITALIAN PASTA IS THE BEST I was so so happy to try it and eat various other Italian food not Australianised crap
    Haha embrace all the air conditioning πŸ˜€ Continue to have fun Elm!!

  2. That sounds so amazing!!!!!!! I have always wanted to travel!

    Any ways, I have just checked out your blog and oh my gosh it is amazing! ❀ πŸ™‚

  3. So glad you’re having a great time! Can’t wait to hear more about it: sending Robin and yourself my best wishes πŸ™‚

  4. I am so thrilled to hear you are enjoying yourself! And continue rocking your bikini and any other outfit planned. You will look stunning always! Best wishes for you and Robin

    • That is absolutely MENTAL!!!! I feel very sorry for you 😦 I’m a typical English girl in that I think anything over 25 is hot haha!

  5. Sounds like you’re having a brilliant time! And yes the pasta is amazing!!
    Hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday! πŸ™‚

  6. I visited Rome last year, and i agree, Italy is awesomesauce!!!
    I learn italian at school, it’s not as hard as it might seem but for trips i always download apps that give me essential conversation phrases =)

    • That’s actually a brilliant idea! And oooh, you lucky thing: they don’t offer Italian at our school. I’m so jealous! I’d LOVE to go to Rome.

      • Thanks 😊
        We don’t have the chance to learn German at our school which I’m really sad about πŸ‘ŽπŸ»
        Rome is fabulous!!! Go to the piazza navona if you ever are in Rome, it’s my favourite place there especially with the fountain of the 4 rivers πŸŽ‰

What did you think?

