Confessions of a Not-So-Perfect Blogger

I’ll tell you now: everyone blogs a different way. It’s like when you walk: some people do it with short strides, others long, some people walk slowly (me) and others’ walking speed is twice my running speed. The same applies to blogging.

In the same way, every blogger’s imperfect. We do things to be great bloggers – talk to people, write fabulous posts (I’m talking about YOU, not me) and interact with people. But we also don’t do things, and the things we don’t do are different depending on the person.

Not doing those things isn’t bad. Remember that we all have a life outside blogging, and so not doing these things means that the Blogosphere doesn’t consume our lives.

I would never be a Superblogger (imagine that – a Superhero in blogger form). To show you that, I’m going to list all the things I DON’t do. Perhaps I feel guilty for it, but at the end of the day, to know a persony have to know the ‘good’ parts and the ‘bad’ parts.

As far as I can guess, all of you do this, too. I know, for a fact, I’m not the only one who does this.

1. I don’t read all the blogs I follow
Because I’ve been at this for well over a year, I follow well over a thousand blogs. There’s literally no way I would EVER be able to read people’s blogs, every single post they write. I’d implode, and never do any homework. Boom, social life down the drain. Plus, reading that many would be so stressful.

2. I unfollow blogs
Sometimes, someone follows me and I follow them back, not having read their posts. I then do so after a couple of weeks, realise it’s ‘not my thing’ and unfollow them. I do feel guilty for this one, but if I have no interest in that blog then the harsh reality is, I unfollow them because otherwise, I’d have a cluttered feed… Oh wait.

3. I’m not so good at interacting with bloggers
Give me a post, or a comment on my post, and I’m great: I reply, engage in conversation and all of that. Though I’ve got better, when I’m on Twitter or any other social networking site, I just don’t talk to people as much. If I overdid it, again, I’d have no free time at all! The Blogosphere would take me over.

4. I’m horrendous at replying to messages
Oh, dear. This isn’t just for blogging – it’s for real life too. A blogger messages me, and I’ve been known not to reply for days. DAYS. When I do reply, either ow conversation has dried up or it’s too awkward. However, I HAVE got better at this one too. I just get distracted easily okay NO that’s not a good excuse

5. I forget to comment on posts
Is it just me that does that? I have a great comment lined up, on a post that I love, and I just… Forget to write it, or I’m sure I wrote it already. I exit the page, and three days later I remember that I did not, in fact, post the comment and it’s too late to do it now/I’m too tired to write it again.

I could probably think of some more, but that’s it for now. They’re not terrible things – they’re common things people do (or don’t do).

On certain days, I find it difficult to balance real life and blogging. I always feel bad if I neglect one, but it can’t be helped; friends have been helping me to separate them by telling me it’s okay.

When you’re blogging, what kind of things do you not do that you wish you did more of? (That grammar is so bad).

From Elm πŸ™‚

62 thoughts on “Confessions of a Not-So-Perfect Blogger

  1. I follow absolutely everyone who follows me because I feel really bad and then I have too much in my feed so I hardly ever manage to read posts that I’m actually interested in because they’re shoved after some stuff that isn’t really my thing! πŸ˜› I haven’t unfollowed anyone yet xD This means that it’s hard for me to maintain good social interaction with fellow bloggers, because of the overload of posts! But I just can’t unfollow anyone… No, I can’t. xD

  2. There comes a time when you realise you can’t follow everyone! And reading every post is impossible too!
    I make sure I get email alerts for my extra special blogs and I attempt to follow via the reader otherwise 😊

  3. Ugh. I ALWAYS forget to comment on posts and answer emails. Like, I’ll read them, but laziness takes over and I’m like “meh, I’ll do it tomorrow.” Repeat cycle every day until one week later…

  4. I understand how difficult it can be to balance my offline life with blogging sometimes and I absolutely can’t post as often as I want to.
    Your blog posts are amazing and I hope you realise just how talented you are at blogging. πŸ™‚

  5. sames here:)!!!!!i unfollow people too, if i follow someone, and they dont folow me back i just unfollow them!!!but we all know no ones perfect so its just so much fun being you know the imperfect you/me everyoine!!byeeexx

  6. Wow I can relate to this on just so much. Is it alright if I write a post on the same topic (I will of course credit you and quote you for any of the ideas I got from you)? I loved how reading this I just kept thinking “omg same” the whole way through πŸ™‚ None of us bloggers are perfect and I think in many ways thats what makes us all so good and unique.

    • I’m sorry for not replying for ages – of course you can; I’d be honoured! Thank you so much πŸ™‚ Yes, nobody is perfect. That includes bloggers.

  7. Well, I’ve never unfollowed anyone, but I see your point. What I’ve done was starting to read a blog post and not finishing because it started to get boring and toooooo long. Kisses, ly :*

  8. Don’t worry, I’m guilty of all the above, too. And i’ve only been blogging for three months πŸ˜‚ you’re an awesome blogger tho, so keep at it!

  9. I too don’t read all the blogs I follow! For a while I was finding it too stressful to try and write/post and read while balancing my real life, so there was a while when I wasn’t reading any at all but I am trying to read more again! I also don’t really stay in touch with many people. There are a few I will talk to once in a while, but not many, which I wish wasn’t the case but as this isn’t my job or anything, it kind of has to be! Xx

  10. Hello there Elm~ ^_^

    It’s certainly has been awhile since I’ve been here so I feel guilty of not being able to write posts for the past few days, not commenting on blogs of people that I follow, and replying to messages ( Like one of your previous message >.< ) So it's really a relief to know that it's perfect to feel that way πŸ˜€ That not being able to do those things isn't necessarily bad thing and that you should manage to balance your personal life and the blogging world~

    Thank you for writing this πŸ™‚ ( I certainly needed to read this XD )

  11. Yup! I only read like 5 blogs and not all of them post everyday. I don’t want blogging to take over me even though I’ve done this blogging thing for over a year, haha πŸ™‚ I’m not a perfect blogger but it’s your blog so do whatever you want.

  12. Hahaha I do some of these things as well! I know for a fact that I’m following 5-10 blogs. I started off with the WordPress feed, but I never checked that. Then I went to Bloglovin’, but I never checked that either. Now I just stick with email, because that’s the only real way it gets my attention. XD
    -Amy

  13. Loving your honesty here and in a few other posts. I think it really helps kinda refresh me after the sometimes “seemingly perfect” I guess nature of other bloggers. Thank you for sharing because I can relate to a lot of these! Remember that no one is perfect, probably all of our favorite bloggers have done these things before

  14. It seems to me that if you aren’t blogging just for β€œfun”, then β€œpromotion” and β€œsales” become the major issue.

    The same with social media.

    What’s a poor Affiliate Marketer to do?

What did you think?

