I’m NOT a Scrooge!

“So Elm, have you wrapped all your presents yet?”
“Erm, no…”
“Have you actually bought all of your Christmas presents yet?”
“Umm… Maybe?”
“What – we’re going up to Grandma’s today! Bloody hell.”
“…Eh, sorry?”

Now ordinarily, I’m a festive snowflake around Christmas time. I scream Christmas songs, wrap presents, and generally piss everyone off with my excitement. Guess what? This year I haven’t been festive at all.

I know, I know; it’s horrifying. I didn’t even help decorate the tree much (though my sister was worse); my Christmas-music-listening has been appalling and I’ve not read any Christmassy books, but I’ve been too busy reading a historical fiction series I’m obsessed with WHICH HASN’t BEEN COMPLETED ARGH!

Something needs to change. I need to get my reindeer tinsel shit together. So, I’ve compiled a short list of all the things I’m going to do.

Elm’s Strategies to Prevent Her Turning into a Scrooge
1. Have my annual fight with my cousin over who’s going to give out the presents. I will destroy that little bastard!
2. Listen to Christmas music at top volume. It has the added bonus of irritating people, so it’s a win-win situation!
3. Truly getting into the wrapping of presents spirit by enthusiastically forcing my parents to help me do the wrapping. Who cares if it’s out of character for me? They’ll just have to get used to it.
4. Read a horrifically cheesy romance Christmas novel that will make me forget I’m forever alone. I mean, it’ll put me right into the Christmas mindset! Any recommendations?
5. Get far too excited over Swedish Christmas dinner at Grandma’s, and then English Christmas dinner at my mum’s. How could you deny food? Food is brilliant. In fact, I think that I’m going to try and help with making it, and if the house burns down then it wasn’t a very sturdy house, obviously. What do you mean, I’m a shit cook?!

There you go: how I’m going to become less of a Scrooge this Christmas. Perhaps it’ll work, perhaps it won’t; we’ll just have to see.

See you on the other side! I won’t be able to post much over the next few days because Christmas, but if you have a great post you’d like me to read, then less me know!

Joyeux noelle,
From Elm πŸ™‚

30 thoughts on “I’m NOT a Scrooge!

  1. I don’t know what it is about this year, but this Christmas season just hasn’t felt Christmassy to me either. I was talking about it at work just yesterday and I’m not alone. I haven’t finished Christmas shopping so I’ll be battling the last minute shoppers today. I haven’t decided on our Christmas menu yet. Hopefully it will kick in and my family can have gifts and a nice dinner on Christmas. If not, then corndogs and IOUs will be given! Welp… Happy Holidays to all! =]

    • I hope it went well! I managed to be as festive as I could, but still, it didn’t really feel as Christmassy as usual. I’m putting that down to this year just being so incredibly negative and all of the terrible things that have happened in the world

  2. I’ve heard the book ‘Let it snow’ is meant to be great to read at this time of year and may I ask what historical fiction series you’re reading? I love historical fiction haha πŸ™‚

  3. This is so cute! I hope you embrace the Christmas spirit completely. As got books, have you read John Green’s Let It Snow? It’s the cutest, most christmassy book ever!

  4. OMYGERSH same, I haven’t felt very festive at all this Christmas season…

    I don’t know what it was… Something about it didn’t seem as exciting… Maybe I am just a grinch, IDK.

    Honestly tho, how was it? At the moment I am sooo stuffed chock-a-block full of food, I feel like the turkey I am so stuffed.

    It was really nice tho. A heap of fun. I guess I did get into the spirit after all!

What did you think?

