Principles I Attempt to Live By

In the roar of bad mental health, panicking and making somewhat questionable decisions that my life has now turned into, I appear to have forgotten exactly what makes me a good person: exactly who I am, and why I do the things I do.

Here’s a short post, just to remind myself – and you – of what I try to live by. Maybe this will help you, too, because I think that these supposed rules are so important.

My “Rules” of Life

Always be kind to others. It doesn’t hurt anybody – it helps them – and it only takes a second to tell people how much you love them

Help others as much as you can; you’d want people to do the same for you and helping people, when they need it, is the right thing to do

Conversely, you need to take time for yourself: you can’t help anyone if you’re so miserable that you can’t help yourself. Don’t neglect you as a person.

You can love as strongly, as deeply, as you did before. There’s nothing wrong with falling in love, with expressing your love to anyone.

Live in the present as much as you can, and only worry about the future when you can do something about it. What’s the point in dwelling on “what if?” Don’t drown in the past: remember what you have now.

It’s okay to be angry, but don’t let it consume you. People shouldn’t walk all over you – you need to stick up for yourself – but anger isn’t the sole fuel in life.

Never do something if it makes you utterly miserable but it makes someone else happy, or placates someone. Here, your happiness comes first; you are so important.

Listen to your friends. They love you, and you love them; their advice is invaluable. They’re your friends for a reason.

You can’t please everyone; don’t try. Let people love you when you can, and love them in return: don’t put your guard up, but remember that people are only as good as they make themselves.

Most of all? Strive to be happy. You don’t think it, but you deserve it.

From Elm πŸ™‚

33 thoughts on “Principles I Attempt to Live By

  1. These are definitely principles worth living by! Sometimes it’s difficult to stick to them, even when you know you should, but it doesn’t matter because we always bounce back. We always end up stronger and better than before!

  2. Great words! We do deserve to be happy. πŸ˜€β€‹
    So I nominated you for the Blogger Recognition Award. I’m new to this whole “award” thing. I think Mahriya has been nominated several times too. Oops. If you have done it before, don’t worry about it. If you haven’t, come play! πŸ˜‰β€‹
    http://wp.me/p4oQp5-E3

  3. Eeee, this is such a lovely post! I really should write down a list of principles/rules/words that I try to live by, just to remind myself on difficult days. (Like today lmaoooooo)

  4. I find a lot of these to remember all the time but it’s lovely to have a reminder every morning. I think one of my friends has her phone screen as reminders of how she should act and how to look after herself, it’s pretty sweet πŸ™‚ x

  5. When the year started, I made a little list like this. And now, whenever I do something they kind of ring in my head. Like I’m having a panic then I remember to beat fear. Or I’m not feeling great and I remember to love myself and work hard. Love your principles, I think they are very important to have ❀

  6. ❀️❀️ I think everyone needs to have reminders like these every once in a while. It is scary how easily people can forget some of these.

  7. Thank God I found your blog…it’s oozing with positivity. It came just in the right time….and you “followed” me,too,I believe…. Haha…
    I’m smiling and tearing up at the same time while reading your posts…it’s like someone led me to your blog so that I could look at life in a brighter light.
    Ha!you’re my blog angel…

    • And you have just turned into my favourite commenter. Always keep smiling, and letting people help you with their words. You’re beautiful – don’t forget it!

What did you think?

