Small Ways to Get Your Life Back on Track

For the first time ever, I applied a little bit of makeup – myself – before going to school. You can start laughing now, because even I was shocked: despite going shopping on Saturday for “beauty” items, I never thought I’d have the guts to go through with it. To actually say, “Oi! You don’t look shit when you do this!”

That’s what inspired me to make this post, because today I felt positive and like I could do something worthwhile. The makeup doesn’t make me feel more secure in myself; it’s a little extra thing that is new, and the fact that I could apply it without help gave me the boost of confidence I needed.

If you’re like me and your life is spinning out of control, and you feel overwhelmed, then here are a few things that have helped me – and may help you – to pick yourself up again. They’re just little things, but can make a world of difference to you if all you want to do is cry.

Sort out your room

I don’t know about you, but there’s something calming about organising something so personal as your room. When my room gets in a clutter and I get pissed off at life, a way to calm myself down is to tidy up, reshuffle everything or just make sure you know where things actually are. Being blind, it’s essential to me that I’m aware of where things are in my room, and so I like to check every now and then that it’s all in order. Try it and you may see that doing something productive helps you relax.

Make a list of people who care about you

This seems stupid, but you often forget who’s there for you. In a moment of fear or paranoia, I have to remind myself of who’s there and why they’re there. You have more people on your side, looking out for you, than you think: acknowledge it, as best as you can, by noting down everyone. It makes me feel more secure in myself, and so I know that next time I’m terrified, I can refer back to the list and remember: I’m not alone. Neither are you.

Do something creative for a while

If you’re swamped by essays, writing and screaming balls of fire – erm, I mean work – a way to combat that is to do something else. Don’t feel guilty; you’re not a failure or a piece of crap for doing something you love! Mine’s singing and creatively writing; yours could be dance, sport, artwork and drawing, or anything like that. Step away from the homework and keep in mind that you’re not some work machine fiend superhero invincible human. Anyway, doing something you like to do can make you feel better, and so you can approach the bitch that is life with a positive mindset.

Talk and laugh with people

This one’s especially good with people you don’t see every day; it can be refreshing. Sometimes, I feel stifled and so lose all motivation to do anying, but it doesn’t HAVE to be that way (yeah Elm, take your own bloody advice!). A huge mood-booster (THAT is not a word shh) for me is Skyping bloggers, and just laughing with them until my sides hurt, or talking to random people in class.

Take care of yourself

Yes, that includes hygene and cleaning. Being female, I enjoy having routines that I stick to when it comes to skincare: cleansing my face, using moisuriser, all of that which you should do anyway. It gives me something to stick to, and makes me feel healthy; even eating healthily can improve your mood. I love chocolate to a scary degree, but if I eat it all the time, it makes me feel upset, and so little things like remembering to eat a balanced diet are so important. For anyone that knows me, I’ve become rather… Involved with looking after my skin and my way of living recently, as evidenced by my constant need to make sure I’m not over or underdoing things. Looking after how you live and yourself can just make you go outside and not want to crawl into a hole and howl for 20 years.

These seem like obvious things, but trust me when I say that I sometimes (all the time, whoops) forget to do them. Slowly, over the past 6 months, I’ve been implementing them more in my life and they’ve helped me to feel a little more grounded, stable and together in my mind.

What kinds of things do you do to make sure that you’re helping yourself as much as possible?

From Elm πŸ™‚

38 thoughts on “Small Ways to Get Your Life Back on Track

  1. I love these ideas! I should definitely sort out my room more often- it’s messy 97% of the time. πŸ˜‚ If I’m feeling overwhelmed I tend to make a to do list that I can work through. It really helps me to organise my thoughts!

  2. This is a very encouraging post to read xx I’m glad you’ve been able to establish some sort of routine to help gain back control of life when everything seems hectic. I mean you do have a beautiful voice so it’s great you sing to relieve stress.I’ve begun playing the piano for enjoyment and writing poems to try and find some form of calmness. I know you mentioned you emailed me last night, but I don’t think I’ve received it yet? (I’m so sorry for spamming your emails this past week) much love always x

    • Ahhh, thank you so much! There’s been a problem with my account 😦 I hadn’t been receiving any emails and turns out it wouldn’t let me log in. I’m about to sort it out though xx

      • you’re welcome beautiful x ah okay, that must be annoying 😦 give me a shout when it’s all sorted and I’ll resend my emails (unless I cringe whilst reading them haha) take care x

  3. This is amazing. I do the same as you to be honest. I’m not much of a girly-girl, but I take time out when I’m stressed and do a face mask or something to relax me. And in terms of keeping my life together, I make lists and lists and more lists, haha

  4. Omg this post could not be ANY better!! Haha, I just did my makeup and removed it before going on wordpress! I just don’t know why my eyes always remain itchy AF when I use the makeup remover, maybe I’m doing it the wrong way, idk hehe Also, I have one question if you don’t mind me asking: When you do your makeup, do you do your eyes? And if you do, can’t you accidentally poke your eyeballs? *well, no one would poke’em on purpose, my bad* Cause I’m always freaking scared when I do liner and it makes me wanna scream every time!!
    *dude, I only have talked about your first paragraph and I’ve already said a lot, oops*
    Sorting out your room is very important, I always have to do it every once in a while cause it gets messier and messier. LOL, I had a teacher who once said: “When my workplace is untidy, it causes me anger and frustration.” That quote was golden!!
    Taking care of yourself is also very important! Months ago, I wouldn’t detangle my hair nor wash my face everyday. Now I’ve been doing it more and more, and you’re right, it makes you feel healthy!!
    I loved this post SO MUCH!!!!
    P.S. Sorry for the essay comment. *copes and pastes to her english homework*

    • NOOOO I LOVE THIS!!! πŸ™‚ Your comments are awesome. OHHH yes I used to not wash my face and the thought of NOT doing that every day now fills me with horror! OMG nopeee I don’t do my eyes by myself (I haven’t learned how to yet) BUT THAT IS A GOAL I WANT TO DO!!

  5. can we skype sometime soon? we have just been dealing with so much of the same stuff and we never skype one on one so i just really want to have a good chat with you.

  6. Great post! YES to laughing with friends, writing, and organizing stuff!!! πŸ˜‚ I’ve also started keeping a gratitude journal and doing yoga regularly which has helped me out a lot! Actually I should probably be doing one of those right now since I am slightly terrified of the ACT test that looms ever closer, but I have chosen to curl up on my bed to read blog posts and watch random youTube videos instead…

    • You’re gonna do AMAZINGGG! How does that work for you – do you get a braille copy or is it electronic? I now KNOW what an ACT test is πŸ˜› We don’t have them over here

      • Thanks! πŸ™‚ I could do it either way, but I chose to do it with a braille copy because I didn’t want to risk doing it electronically and discovering that something wasn’t accessible. They’re SUPER strict about everything since your ACT score basically determines your chance of getting into college, so if something had ended up not working right electronically, my score could’ve been canceled, and I would’ve had to take it again a different time. And lol! My life has kind of revolved around studying for this for the past year, so I didn’t think about people not knowing what it was! πŸ˜‚ Do you guys have something similar over there?

      • EWWWW that’s awful! How do the tests work?! We kind of do – I’m not sure how much you know about the English education system but we have GCSEs in year 11 after studying for 3 years (used to be two with me but they increased it). That’s 10th grade for it. Then, we have A-Levels (three or four subjects) in year 13, so 12th grade, and then move onto university (college). Your A-LevelS determine what uni you get into. Did you type yours on a Perkins?!

  7. Wow you have some really great advice on here. I’m so glad you have a way to make yourself that little bit more confident! Remember, if you ever go through all your tips and you still feel upset, you can always message me! ❀

  8. Okay, I’ve never thought about the cleaning my room part and I just discovered it works. I feel better. At least for now. My life is miserable to and I’m trying to find ways to make it better too. And yup make up actually does it even for me

What did you think?

