Getting into the Spirit of Things

In my school, there’s a thing that happens every year. The Sixth Formers run it – specifically, the year 12s – and I’ll just call it Charity Week because that’s essentially what it is.

What happens that week is we (or it will be us) dress up in costumes based on a theme – there’s one theme per day – run events and raise money for charity. It’s done through events, cake and sweet sales and donations; it’s a rather huge deal because loads of sixth formers and the younger years get involved. It’s a way to have fun, whilst also doing good.

This year, it’s our turn and two of my best friends are on the team that organise it. I would have run for that – Student Representative – but there’s no way I’m confident enough in my own abilities. This time, though, instead of sitting back and doing bugger all, I’m actually going to help.

Maybe I should concentrate on doing work but I want to prove to myself that I can stick with something and that I’m motivated. My energy levels have plummeted and I really want to change that which means that I’m going to have to get up the confidence to do something.

Did I mention, it’s next week? I also neglected to say that I’ve barely done anything to sort things out.

The first thing is costumes. I’m never usually one to dress up – I’m insecure because I can’t see my costumes, think I’m not trying hard enough or I tried too hard or simply that my costume is shit. After saying to my friends that “I have no one to help me because the family’s busy,” and they telling me, “You have us you moron!” I realised how stupid I was but I suppose I didn’t want to be a burden on them or make them go out of their way.

On some of the days I want to dress up as the White Witch from Narnia, a Dryad (I sobbed with laughter after I came up with that one; Dryads are tree spirits from mythology) and I was going to be a Victorian lady but getting the clothes would be too difficult as it’s too late, so I’m going to dress up as either a peasant girl or Joan of Arc. I also want to dress up as someone from Harry Potter but my mind’s gone blank – if you have any suggestions that aren’t Hermione (everyone will be going as her or multiple people) let me know!

I promised one of the Student Reps that I’d bring in stuff to sell. That includes sweets, biscuits and cakes; that will be my favourite one because how can you realistically go wrong with that? In addition, it’s fun; I love shopping for sweet things because you can get really creative. That will probably be my main focus because it’s what people want to buy.

Somehow, I’ve managed to spread the word about it. In the unit for blind people – VI unit – I was talking about it whilst waiting for a teacher to help me to the form room of the girl I peer mentor; I told the 5 or so people in there at the time that they should get donating as much as they could. I’m not the most charismatic person at all so I most likely came across as too enthusiastic – something they’re not used to because most of them know me as some kind of sarcastic know-it-all bitch – but I hope it got through to them. I even told them in the most chirpy voice ever, “Spread the word in your year if you can – it’s gonna be fab!” and I cringed so hard but for once, I was smiling.

For some reason, I have about 3 year 7 friends along with the girl I Peer Mentor and so when I was in her form, I was also talking about it. I got a few questions and answered them as best as I could – they know my face and so I didn’t have to do any awkward introductions. It was great because I felt like I truly was doing something.

Let’s hope that I can pull the costumes off! Do you have anything like this in your school?

From Elm πŸ™‚

66 thoughts on “Getting into the Spirit of Things

  1. That sounds like so much fun! Maybe you could be Luna Lovegood? We have spirit week at my school, where we all dress up with different themes for each day (Monday is always Pajama day) and collect clothes for a clothing drive. Good luck with all your planning!

    • OOOOH that sounds awesome; that’s kinda similar to what we have πŸ™‚ I’d love to be Luna but I’d have to find a blonde wig! AHHH it can be done. Thanks by the way!! πŸ™‚

What did you think?

