If You Weren’t You

If you were a song, you’d be the one played with violins which echoes around a hall, simply because you don’t believe yourself to be and it would annoy you. You underestimate the power of your own melody: you’d be a bowstring, taught like an archer’s weapon but capable of making the sweetest music, if you would let yourself. You’d be played at the parties of those you hated just to prove a point and I’d laugh, then wonder why I was still listening.

If you were a dance, I’d learn the steps even if I couldn’t dance them: it would be difficult but I’d be willing to try. You’d be the steps to a wedding – the last song they play – because you’d find that strangely ironic. I’d still dance it, the last one standing – or maybe there would be a queue of people in front of me. They could all dance it better but I would still learn as much as I could.

If you were a painting, I wouldn’t be able to see you but I’d have those that could understand describe it to me. Not being able to see you would always set me at a disadvantage because again, it would be another mystery to me, more than you are now. It’s an idea out of reach, a few brushstrokes beyond my comprehension.

If you were a story, I’d be at the point where the plot thickens, never knowing what will happen. Your beginning, middle and end would be filled with plot twists and amazing revelations so that I could never keep up. I’d still read your story or try, no matter if I was discouraged. Complexity never stopped me before but I don’t – I won’t – understand you unless the words, the ideas, become clear to me.

If you were a thought, I wouldn’t feel guilty for thinking about you; I’d embrace it. You’d be that stolen smile at the end of the day, where I wouldn’t feel bad for hoping despite the hopelessness.

Pity that you aren’t.

You’re none of these; you’re just you. You’re neither poetic nor something to be admired: you’re almost like me. I don’t know how to feel about that.

From Elm πŸ™‚

37 thoughts on “If You Weren’t You

  1. Oh. My. Gosh. Elm.
    I love this so much! The way it all started and continued to be this… light and passion-filled cotton candy and turned out to be a hard bittersweet candy.
    I dunno why I compared it to sweets but it’s amazing! πŸ’•

    • Thanks so much! πŸ™‚ I wanted to start with the “song” because it’s often the thing that people associate with love, sweetness and meaning. Glad you liked!

  2. I absolutely love this. So real and beautiful. People may not be poetic, but your writing certainly is in this piece. I especially loved the line, ‘you’d be that stolen smile at the end of the day…’ Brilliant writing, brilliant sentiments. People are just people, not more and not less. That’s the way it should be, nobody is perfect. Nobody has a halo. Nobody should be placed on a pedestal. Everybody is who they are, real. Human. Like you and me. Loved this!

    • YES!!! We’re just like other people – human, not something to be worshipped. I added the smile line in as an afterthought but I’m really happy I did because I like the line! I’m so glad you enjoyed reading because the meaning to this is something I think everyone should remember – like you have!

      • We are all different and yet, exactly the same. Human. I did so enjoy reading it; especially, the central theme behind it. It is very true. And I loved that line a lot. Sometimes the best lines come in the form of afterthoughts!

  3. Wow this is a stunning piece, you’ve perfectly summed up that longing we have to imagine other people as amazing, untouchable, mysterious spirits, when in fact they are flawed human beings like us. Truly well-written.

    • I’m very glad that you think so well of my writing πŸ™‚ Thank you so much! Yes I agree: we all have flaws; it’s remembering that other people have them that’s sometimes difficult

      • It really did blow me away, thank you for sharing! Yes reminds me of the word sonder from the Dictionary of Obscure Sorrows πŸ˜‰

  4. this was incredibly beautiful to read. the way you phrased thoughts was breath taking and overall an enjoyable read. definitely one of your creative pieces i admire. the tone, the voice, the message – everything was just so deep and meaningful. i love it. i can reread it again and again. much love xx

    • Even bigger love to you! I’ve missed your beautiful words; you know just how to put a smile on my face. Never have I appreciated something more xx

What did you think?

