I Can’t Speak German

Hi!

When I post this it’ll be Friday and I’ll be on the plane to Berlin, for a history school trip. It’ll be with both history classes: that includes Red who’s one of my best friends and a girl who was in my old french class, though not Laurel.

I’ve been looking forward to this all year: we’re staying until Monday and will be walking and doing so many activities every day. Such activities are visiting a concentration camp, going to memorials, seeing the Reichstag and other things I can’t remember. It’s going to be a good experience because it’ll teach me more about Germany itself as well as the horrors of the Nazi regime – we study it for A-Level in History – and I’ll feel more free, I hope.

Even if I’m mildly nervous because I don’t know many people well, I think that this will be an opportunity to “come out of my shell”. I’ve been extremely closed off recently to the point where it’s damaged close relationships; I feel like being a little more open with everyone, starting with actually displaying qualities to people of myself that are, in fact, truthful. I’m going there for the education as well as the companionship.

I’ve written a post that hopefully, will be up on Sunday so that my blog isn’t empty for 4 days. I’m going to miss you all: I haven’t read many blogs in so long; my previous drive to read has disappeared but after this trip, I hope it can revitalise itself. As I feel rather faded, this may be an opportunity to get my thoughts back on track. Maybe.

Expect a big update when I get back and if I don’t do one, feel free to shout at me. As I’m almost completely blind, I have to have someone from my school’s VI unit along to help me which is going to cause me some frustration but I’m sure it’ll be fine. I sincerely doubt I’ll have enough time or energy to miss England much; it’s going to be packed.

See you on Monday but most likely Tuesday because I won’t have Wifi! Because of the long trip, I’ll be utterly exhausted and I’ll have to go to school the next day. Oh, joy of joys.

Have you ever been to Berlin (if you don’t live there?)

From Elm πŸ™‚

34 thoughts on “I Can’t Speak German

  1. That’s so cool! Hey, you know, ‘kindergarten’ is a German word. So you know some German already. πŸ˜€

    • Hehehe true!! That’s the extent of my German though πŸ˜€ I mean I know danke and Guten tag, plus a few words I don’t know how to spell 😦 The trip itself was awesome – thanks so much! I loved it all despite the fact I’m now EXHAUSTED

      • I read the post in my email inbox! It sounds like the ideal school trip. I tend to be suspicious of any kind of scenario that involves spending an excessive amount of time with my classmates. I’m glad to hear it went off so well!

  2. Ahhh, have fun! I study German lol, so I do know some ahah
    I actually got back some German mock results today, and I’m happy with them (though I’m convinced it’s a fluke and I’m going to fail my actual exams)

    • YAY I’m so proud and all I know is guten tag and danke πŸ˜€ And you will NOT fail your exams! I bet you’ll do fab especially because you’re happy with the mock results πŸ™‚

  3. Wow! That’s a great opportunity you got there. Some students from our school go on trips to Europe every year. I have never been there, but I would reeeeally love to visit it!
    I used to live very close to Asia, so basically spent my whole childhood exploring the adventurous Asian countries, which I am super grateful for!! I really hope to travel to Europe in the near future!
    And you have fun!!! xx

    • Oh my GOSH that’s amazing; what countries have you been to? I’ve been to Thailand, Malaysia and Indonesia in Asia – we were going to go to Laos but didn’t in the end. Also thanks! Berlin was absolutely wonderful. The world is filled with so much culture; it’s kind of overwhelming! I want to travel everywhere to learn about the history of places but sadly, I can’t!

      • Oo, I’ve been to Hong Kong+China, South Korea, Thailand, Vietnam, Cambodia, Japan, Guam (not 100% sure if you can count it as Asia πŸ˜…). I loved it!! That’s great that you were in Asia; I really want to visit Indonesia and Malaysia, and many more countries!!!
Glad you liked Berlin, cannot wait for the day, I hope in the near future, when I travel there πŸ™‚β€¨Same here, I want to travel everywhere, don’t really have a chance right now. But we still have our whole lives ahead of us πŸ˜‰

    • I picked up a VAGUE amount of SOME German on the trip! πŸ˜€ And thanks; it was wonderful. I really enjoyed myself! Do you learn any languages besides German? xx

  4. Woww! You’re going to Germany!! That is going to be amazing. We learnt about Nazism last year and I have no idea how it’s going to be when you ACTUALLY stand in front of the concentration camps. Whoa. Happy happy journey! Your school’s brilliant.
    Xoxo

    • Oh gosh thank you! Sorry for not replying – I got back really late yesterday πŸ™‚ it was absolutely wonderful! The concentration camp was incredibly emotional but I think looking at the memorials was even more emotional, as well as reading some of the stories from the people in the Holocaust. Did you find learning about that kind of thing interesting? It’s horrifying but I think it’s so important to learn about. Hopefully there’ll be a bigger update πŸ™‚ I missed you xx

      • Oh its completely fine! You must’ve been tired after the journey. ☺ Oh God, you got to read those original written-downs of the people from the Holocaust?! Oh shit. Learning about it was very .. um yes, interesting though not in a positive note. Uhh, Jews being referred to as vermin, stereotyped as greedy, awarding medals for producing Nordic Aryans…Hell, it was one hell of a lesson. But personally I admire Hitler a little. German is the country it is today, because of him. He died decades ago but I’m sure there isn’t a person who doesn’t know about him. That requires power.
        Aahh, okay I went too much into debate-mode, forgive me. πŸ˜‚ I’m looking forward to your full update on your trip! Glad you’re back!!! I missed you loads too. ❀
        Xoxo

      • I think Hitler, or Hitler and Himler as a team, were two of the worst people in history simply because they were the ones who drew up the plans and wished for the extermination of the Jewish people – as well as Sinti and Roma, homosexual people, disabled people and the expulsion of those who weren’t Aryan. It makes me sick but it’s so very important to learn about so that history doesn’t repeat itself in the same way; it’s just so sad. Did you do a topic on Hitler or just a lesson? πŸ™‚ And yepp I posted it but I’m scheduling it for tomorrow instead because I need to make some ammendments to the original post xx

      • Oohhh bloody hell!!! I’m sorry, it sometimes takes a bit of reminding for me to start hating that man all over again. He did have a lot of positive stuff too (he brought Germany out of crisis) and reading a lot of the stereotyped stuff about Jews, sometimes messes with my brain a little. But, the God of all, I’m almost shaking right now. It must have been horrible!!!! And you must know, after seeing the memorials. Aaahh..it is so so so bad. 😭😭 It was actually a lesson but it was so huge, so it kinda turned into a topic. We even had to go around the neighbourhood asking different people about their views and perspectives of this genocide, and what they thought about it; then we had to analyse and submit reports. We got very different answers. A couple of them wanted to exterminate Muslims all over the world so that there won’t be any possibilities or chances of terrorism anymore. I could not help staring at that man. Wtff. 🀐 And ooh okay. I’ll be sure to read it when it’s done! πŸ˜ƒ
        Xx

      • UGH that’s awful! I kind of want to go around and ask people what they think but… Our views over here are all pretty similar. But I think it’s just so SO important to think and learn about, despite the horror.

  5. Waah, this is awesome! I used to love school trips so much, such an opportunity for learning and talking more with everyone (and doing something different)
    Have a good time!
    And I know some basic phrases in German – ‘Thank you’, ‘I love you’ and ‘A beer, please’ lol

    • I only know how to say thank you! And a few other really simple things πŸ™‚ I had an absolutely lovely time; I’m going to be writing it up tomorrow! Thanks for the well wishes – I hope you had an amazing weekend XX

  6. Oo, I’ve been to Hong Kong+China, South Korea, Thailand, Vietnam, Cambodia, Japan, Guam (not 100% sure if you can count it as Asia πŸ˜…). I loved it!! That’s great that you were in Asia; I really want to visit Indonesia and Malaysia, and many more countries!!!
    Glad you liked Berlin, cannot wait for the day, I hope in the near future, when I travel there πŸ™‚
    Same here, I want to travel everywhere, don’t really have a chance right now. But we still have our whole lives ahead of us πŸ˜‰

What did you think?

