Elm’s “Top Tips” on How to Do That Blogging Thing

Why am I doing this?

Because I can.

A lot of people do lists on how to “EXPAND YOUR BLOG AUDIENCE WITH TEN SIMPLE STEPS! DO THESE AND YOU ARE GUARANTEED 500000 FOLLOWERS WITHIN A DAY!” (Okay, not really, and that’s kind of insulting… Whoops sorry)

No. I’m not doing that. I’m coming at it from the view of someone who, when I started, was literally TERRIFIED of the blogging world. I didn’t know where to go, how to write anything, how to TALK to people, and I couldn’t even follow any “how to be a good blogger” lists because I didn’t know they were out there, and I felt like they wouldn’t work and that I was just “fake” for trying to follow them. You know?

If you’re new at all of this, like I was a year ago and you’ve stumbled upon my strange thing I call a blog, then I hope these will help you. It’s based off my own experiences and from what I’ve seen, they work? And apparently I’m relatively okay at this all so I’ll trust myself for once. I’ve changed my style of writing over the past year, and I’ve changed a lot, and most of it was because of blogging and what I’ve gone through.

First off, when you start, you should TALK TO PEOPLE. That sounds like an obvious thing, but I wish someone had told me that because I was an unsocial moth before I started being Elm, and it took me a WHILE to pluck up the courage to comment on random people’s blogs. It’s a really good way to get people to visit your blog, especially if they’re new as well, but it’s also great as a way of making blog friends and just talking to people in general. That’s the main thing that makes me happy when blogging. So, comment on people’s blogs, like, follow, all of that standard shit, but also ENGAGE. Show you’re a person and that you respond to the posts.

On the subject of that, and it took me a few months to even realise this was a thing, but I’d suggest making a blog twitter and/or email. Emails made it so that I could talk to many more bloggers OUTSIDE the blogosphere itself, and it made and makes me extremely happy whenever I get an email on that account. And Twitter gets you in with the community too (“in with the community” what am I saying), and there are SO many bloggers on there. That doesn’t mean you should just “follow the herd” – it’s up to you.

You’ll probably wonder why, at some point, your posts don’t get many views. Firstly – it WILL happen with time, as cliché as that is. Don’t stress about it too much, but just make categories for your blog to organise it, and tag your posts with the relevant things. It took me bloody ages to know WHAT those relevant things are, but just think: what’s my post about? Who am I writing it too? Who do I want to READ it? It’s all very well to say “tag your posts”, but if you don’t know what to tag them with, you’ll be confused as hell.

I can’t give you many tips on making your blog look pretty, because sight is something I heavily lack and my version of pretty is laughable. All I can say is, make your blog so that it looks good to YOU. You can take advice from people, but first and foremost, it’s YOURS. It would be like someone screaming at you to change everything about your appearance, until you don’t feel like yourself any more.

The main thing? The thing that has made blogging into a REALLY positive thing for me? BE. YOURSELF.

If you don’t get many views, keep writing. If you only have 10 followers, keep writing. Your blog is for YOU, to shout your thoughts onto or to get advice; to show your talents and talk about something you’re passionate about. Don’t fall into a pattern of constantly wanting to get more – more views, likes, comments – because at the end of the day, people visit your blog because of your content, or because you’re a lovely person. Keep that at the forefront of your mind, because that’s who you are.

You won’t want to do all of these, and if you don’t, you’re NOT a terrible blogger. Far from it – things work different for everyone, and something that works for me might not for you and that’s okay.

I know I’m not one to talk – I’m not professional, my grammar is sometimes attrocious, and I call myself arrogant on a daily basis. That doesn’t mean I can’t give advice when I think that my points are somewhat “valid”. Blogging can be like jumping from the bottom of a cliff to the top – it can feel impossible – but don’t give up on it. There are so many people who will support you and who KNOW what it’s like to get no comments on a post and feel terrible about it.

I hope this has somewhat helped – because though you will probably have heard it before, I wanted to put my spin on it. To explain WHY I think these tips are really good, even if they’re not new. They’re what I used; that, and just bumbling my way through a year of being REALLY personal on le blog.

As always, keep writing!

From Elm 🙂

65 thoughts on “Elm’s “Top Tips” on How to Do That Blogging Thing

  1. Thank you for this Elm, I created my website a couple months ago and honestly I feel so comfortable because it’s a place where i can be myself and get my thoughts out and that’s just great. So I totally agree with everything you’ve said because if you can’t get to do that on your blog then what’s the point. 🙂

  2. Yes. I love this so much. Except I wish I had known all of this when I was just starting out; but as you say, success is not always measured by followers or hits!

    • YES exactly! 🙂 Honestly I wish I’d known this when I started out, but me being me wouldn’t have followed it because I would have tried to be alternative 😛 ARGH

      • ARGHHHHH yes that’s what I was thinking when I started out! #twinning
        I thought I’d be that one blogger who’s known for being alternative. Alas it doesn’t work that way… usually.

  3. Thanks for the tips Elm! I just started blogging this month so I’m taking all the advice I can get xD

      • I like blogging and meeting new people through it 🙂
        It really gives me a chance to talk about anything I love without worrying about judgment because as you said, this blog is mine and what I love

  4. I absolutely love all of your tips Elm!!! 🙂 And you’re right, talking to people in the blogosphere is so important. Not only that, but you get to interact with so many people and make amazing friendships (don’t talk o strangers on the internet, they said XD). Haha, but ya know what i mean, we’re all a community, and we all should interact with one another! And look at how far you’ve come- you’re now the most social person here 🙂

  5. i love this post !! luckily I haven’t been to shy about talking to people in the blogging community, and everyone I have spoken to has been really friendly and supportive. 🙂

    • I’m so glad of that! 🙂 Everyone here is honestly so brilliant and friendly too! I’m glad you have the confidence to speak up 🙂

      • yeah I was very shy when I was younger but I sort of grew out of it as I finished secondary school. and yeah everyone has been so positive and lovely 🙂

  6. Thank you so much! This really helped 🙂 I’m a new blogger and I’m just in love with your blog. Your posts are very entertaining to read and just well, everything I like in a blog, you’re just awesome!!

  7. This is the most helpful post ever! Thank you so so much Elm! I started my blog a month ago, and I’m so happy with it. It’s where I can express and be myself without people constantly judging and bending you to be a certain what. I 100% agree that the success of your blog shouldn’t be measured by followers and likes, but by the amount of happiness and joy it gives YOU.

    • Yes EXACTLY! YOU’RE the most important person in your blog. I’m so glad blogging is going well for you! 🙂 It makes me happy to know that you’re getting so much out of it.

  8. Hey! Decided to take your advice and comment for once ahah I actually do really appreciate this advice though because I’ve been an on and off blogger for over a year and I feel like when I go on breaks it’s because I’m not engaging with the community.. so cheers for this 🙂

    • Any time! 🙂 I understand what you mean – there were times when I stopped just because I thought I wasn’t engaging. But you can do this 🙂

  9. Thanks for the tips! I’m attempting to get out there a bit more and comment- bit hard finding blogs that aren’t huge and appeal to me. Your blog is great. 🙂

  10. Can’t say I’m a “new” blogger, but I’m not a great one (my laughable stats show this), so thanks for this, because I know it really doesn’t matter so long my content is good! 🙂

  11. Hi, Elm! New blogger here and I stumbled upon your blog quite accidentally about half an hour ago and I’m still here! Not a stalker, nope. Just a very interested reader. I love the way you write and honestly, this is one of the best post on blogging advice that I’ve read till date (and, yes, I’ve read a lot). I have few views and fewer followers, but after reading this I remembered why I started my blog. For me. Thanks for the reinforcement! I’m going to keep writing! Anyway, I hope you have a lovely day. 🙂

    • I’m just reading over your comments and smiling because you’re one of the first people who has taken the TIME to read over my blog and all the things I write and tell me! It’s so, so appreciated. Remember that your blog is for YOU: no one else, just you; you can expand it to others but it’s primarily for you! xx

  12. This is one of the most unique blogging advise post I have found in ages (I actually thought of reading all your posts from the very first one) so yeah, as I ckicked over this one, I sort of clicked back out looking at the title cause yes, I have gotten sick of these. But those two lucky seconds in which I just gave it a gander and clicked back in again. Upon reaching the last word, I knew I had to comment. So keeping all what you have said into consideration (which is obviously _uniquely_ helpful), I would like to make this tiny request if you could suggest me about organizing my blog more because I tried that part dividing my content into two basic categories of poetries and write-ups but I am stil not satisfied

    • AWWW you are amazing – I appreciate you so so much!!! Sorry you’ve made me really happy. I’d say – in fact, I need to devote time to checking out your blog properly. How about thinking about ALL the types of posts you write and subdividing those categories? 🙂

      • You are so awesome elm, honestly, despite all the episodes of deep self loathing and self doubting, I hope my comment, though only one in millions, may be able to make you feel nice about yourself. I hope that maybe you are able to think of this comment when you are again crying in your room (as much as I hope that this never happens, we can’t shy away from the reality that we have to break down every now and then to be able to know that we have gotten up later). So I hope you are able to think of this comment some time when you are low that no matter how bad we feel about ourselves, and no matter how inevitable it seems to even question our existence and worth on this planet, we are the best for ourselves. It’s a crooked notion, maybe even clichéd, but the truth of the matter is that we need ourselves the most. If today, my heart stopped pumping blood for me around my body or if today my lungs stopped the tiring monotonous job of exhaling or inhaling for me, what would i really do? Sure i want to help people and be kind to them, ease their pain, but what if I stop existing? What if I am not their for myself? How am i going to be their for others? Can someone we have loved so deeply, come out of the past and pump blood round my body? Can someone breathe for me, in case my lungs have gotten tired over the years? No. I have to be there for myself to even be there for others. Only I can do the most crucial things in life for myself so even when there are days when I am unhappy from myself, i have to take care of it, of myself. I can’t u know, abandon myself. I have to forgive myself. I have to be kind to myself. And at then end of the day, love myself just like I would have loved somone else or cared for someone else. When someone breaks our heart, we still try to forgive them and think of them in a positive way even if we stay angry for some time around. I believe, very much in the same way, we have to forgive ourselves too after being a little angry for a while. Because we simply can’t exist without ourselves no matter how unworthy and rejected we feel.

        This has gotten unbearably long, i am soo sorry, i swear I didn’t realize. See that’s my problem, i loose track and don’t know where i enter. Even my blog tag line says that its wayward and THAT’S WHY I have trouble with *categorising* my ramblings. God I am so sorry!

      • I have tears in my eyes. Can I just give you a huge hug? You’re fantastic I just – you’ve taken so much time to do this! Ahhh I love you a lot xx

      • You are so, so right 🙂 Thank you- you’re really starting to show me I’m worth something. I’m worth MORE than something.

  13. I love this Elm and I love that I’ve found you!
    You’re so young and you have a great grasp on life, I can tell.
    I’m old and I’m trying to get to grips with blogging before I lose my grip on everything else!! I shall follow your advice and enjoy your future posts. I, too, write for fun 🙂

    • I’m so happy for that 🙂 take life as it comes and treat each moment like a page. You can turn back to it when moments get tough. I’m proud of you for writing 🙂 if you need any help with anything, I’m here xx

What did you think?